Winter 2013-2014 Anime Preview

[edit: 1/5/13] Chidori3souske: Added notable staff/cast, additional PVs and my uber late impressions. I’ll try to finish it this week my aim would be 7 series per day so continue to check it out everyday. Thank you Sid for gathering all of the data!

Data gathered are from: AniDB, ANN, MAL, Moetron and AniChart

Winter 2013/2014 Anime Chart v3

 

TV Series

Buddy Complex

Buddy Complex
Release Date: January 06, 2014
Animation Production: Sunrise
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Yasuhiro Tanabe (Asst. Director Horizon in the Middle of Nowhere II (TV))
Original Creator: Yatate, Hajime (Cowboy Bebop)
Music: Tatsuya Katou (Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Illya (TV))

Matsuoka, Yoshitsugu (Kirigaya, Kazuto) as Watase, Aoba
Uchiyama, Kouki (Orimura, Ichika) as Weinberg, Junyou Dio
Hayami, Saori (Ononoki, Yotsugi ) as Yumihara, Hina
Sugita, Tomokazu (Chamber) as Conrad, Lee

Summary: Aoba Watase, a high school boy living in a city called Maihama, leads a normal life of school, romance, and the swim club. Watase’s life changes when he sees a beautiful girl, Hina Yumihara, at the pool one day and discovers he is initially the only person who can see her. In order to keep his high school’s swimming club open by recruiting more members, Watase hopes to enlist Hinao to appear in a promo video shot by Watase’s close friend, Gengo. Hina agrees, but on the condition that he does something for her in exchange – pilot a mecha for an organization known as Celebrum.
Agreeing to her request, Watase is drawn into a world of fighting giant robots in a game-like world that he must save from Deutera Areas formed by aliens known as Gards-orm that threaten to destroy the earth. However, Watase soon comes to realize that the world that he is living in might not even be real at all and begins to find that everything he is doing is strangely familiar. As he questions the nature of the reality he lives in, Hina must continue to fight in order to protect the lives of those important to him.

Impression:
Chidori3souske I have always loved mecha anime so yep I’m definitely going to try this out. I’m just a bit wary cause the director behind this is a newbie and his track record so far is not that astounding so I’m not expecting much, I just hope it won’t be another Valverave. Hopefully, the romance in this series would be tackled fully unlike several mecha shows out there.
Hikaru Buddy Complex has a generic mecha plot where the protagonist is unwillingly pulled into the battlefield. At the onset, the possible relationship between the two lead cast – Aoba Watase and Junyou Weinberg – painfully reminds me of Tokishima Haruto and L-Elf of Kakumeki Valvrave and I sincerely hope it doesn’t follow that route. Given that Sunrise is behind this, I am expecting astounding battle scenes and production. Will give this a few episodes try.
Sid I think I’m going to skip this one. I don’t really feel like it is going to be that great from the summary and PV. Plus I have plenty of other things on my watch list to keep my time occupied.
Joshua The story line seems a little… predictable. But I will watch a few episodes to see how it pans out


Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren
Release Date: January 09, 2014
Animation Production: Kyoto Animation
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Tatsuya Ishihara
Series Composition: Jukki Hanada (Chobits (TV))

Fukuyama, Jun (Lamperouge, Lelouch) as Togashi, Yuuta
Akasaki, Chinatsu (Shimeji) as Nibutani, Shinka
Uchida, Maaya (Sanka, Rea) as Takanashi, Rikka
Uesaka, Sumire (Takanashi, Sora) as Dekomori, Sanae
Summary: Due to various events, Yuuta and Rikka are living together. This secret co-habitation is so exciting for the two lovebirds! Or so it should be…
Is having a chuuni girlfriend too high of a hurdle for Yuuta, who never even went out with a normal girl?! Yuuta worries about how to advance his relationship with Rikka. And then everyone else, Nibutani, Kumin, and Dekomori, have powered up by advancing a grade. Furthermore, the cause of his chuunibyou outburst in middle school, the girl who calls herself Sophia Ring Saturn the 7th, Satone Shichimiya appears…

Impression:
Chidori3souske  I loved the crazy first season so yes I’m so excited to watch this one. Btw what the hell happened to Nibutani?!
Hikaru A new chuunibyou challenges the love between the Dark Flame Master and the Wicked Eye! Definitely on my list!
Sid I can’t believe that this second season has finally arrived. The first thing I want to point out is that they are already going out. That’s already a start to a new, fresh romance anime. I loved their story in the first season and can’t wait to see what new things unfold.
Joshua OMG OMG ITS GONNA HAPPEN! CHUUNIBYOU 2!!!! YAY!!!!! Ahem, yes, I will watch the whole series, re-watch it, and probably watch that again.


D-Frag!

D-Frag!
Release Date: January 07, 2014
Animation Production: Brains Base
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorSeiki Sugawara (Kids on the SlopeAkikan! episode director)
Series CompositionMakoto Uezu (DanganronpaKamisama Dolls)

Saito, Chiwa (Akemi, Homura) as Karasuyama, Chitose
Konishi, Katsuyuki (Pinion) as Kazama, Kenji
Koshimizu, Ami (Holo) as Oosawa, Minami
Hanazawa, Kana (Sengoku, Nadeko ) as Shibasaki, Roka
Itou, Shizuka (Edelfelt, Luviagelita ) as Takao

Summary: Kazama Kenji likes to believe he is something of a delinquent. Moreover, others seem to like to agree that he is. Of course, Kenji’s gang finds their way to a group of four not-so-normal girls—Chitose, Sakura, Minami and Roka—and all at once, whatever reputation he may have is nothing compared to the outrageous behavior of the girls. Shanghaied into joining their club, what will happen to his everyday life from that point on?

Impression:
Chidori3souske Base from the PV and the summary seems like it’ll be your mediocre harem show so I’m not inclined in watching this one but looking at the VAs whoa…lots of big names there. I guess I’ll try the first ep?
Hikaru Brains Base and harem do not make a good combination. Pass.
Sid Not a harem guy, but I’ll give it a couple episodes. It might at least gives a little bit of entertainment.
Joshua Hmm… harem… Must give it a shot.


Gin no Saji 2nd Season

Gin no Saji 2nd Season
Release Date: January 10, 2014
Animation Production: A-1 Pictures
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorKotomi Deai (Asst. Director of Gin no Saji)
ScriptTaku Kishimoto (Bunny Drop (TV) )

Marie Miyake (Oginome, Ringoas Aki Mikage
Ryohei Kimura (Hasegawa, Kodakaas Yūgo Hachiken
Ayahi Takagaki (Yukine, Chrisas Tamako Inada
Katsuyuki Konishi (Pinionas Shingo Hachiken

Summary: Second season of Gin no Saji

Impression:
Chidori3souske Unfortunately I wasn’t able to watch the first season so I’ll pass on this one.
Hikaru And the agriculture school life continues! I loved the comedy and the real-life agricultural lessons and I am definitely looking forward to more.
Sid Oh I’m definitely going to watch this one. I really enjoyed the first season and look forward to seeing what crazy things can happen in the second. Who knows maybe a little romance? 😉
Joshua Oooo the first season was pretty awesome. 🙂 Looking forward to this one.


Go! Go! 575

Go! Go! 575
Release Date: January 10, 2014
Animation Production: Sega
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorTakefumi Anzai (Episode director Ouran High School Host Club (TV))
Series CompositionKeigo Koyanagi (Script of (The) Pet Girl of Sakurasou (TV))

Ayaka Ohashi (Shibuki, Ranas Maccha Kobayashi
Yuka Ōtsubo (Iwasaki, Shihoas Azuki Masaoka
Minako Kotobuki (Kotobuki, Tsumugias Yuzu Yosano

Summary: Go! Go! 575 adapts the Project 575 games for PlayStation Vita and iOS, which allow anyone to create songs using the traditional Japanese 5-7-5-syllable meter found in haiku and tanka poems.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Seems like it’s for promotion purpsoses so I’ll pass on this one.
Hikaru Looks like an anime created solely for commercial purposes? I love Japanese literature but this is a pass for now.
Sid I’ll pass on this one as well. It’s not like I’ve played the game anyway to appreciate it.
Joshua This might lead to another miss monochrome/hatsune mike character… I need to make sure… will watch a few episodes


Hamatora The Animation

Hamatora The Animation
Release Date: January 08, 2014
Animation Production: NAZ
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Chief DirectorSeiji Kishi (Arpeggio of Blue Steel (TV))
DirectorHiroshi Kimura (Episode director Fairy Tail (TV) )
Series CompositionJun Kumagai (Galilei Donna (TV)) &Touko Machida (Is This a Zombie? (TV))

Summary: “Minimum” – a special inborn power found in a limited number of human beings, known as “minimum holders.” In Yokohama, the detective team Hamatora, formed by two minimum holders named Nice and Murasaki, comes across information connected to a serial killer being pursued by their old friend Art. It turns out all the victims are minimum holders like them. Unwillingly at first, the two detectives become involved in the investigation.

Impression:
Chidori3souske I love the animation style and seems like it’s a combination of supernatural and detective story which is not new but definitely interesting. I guess I’ll try a couple of eps.
Hikaru I’ve always had a fancy for super-powered teens. And with Kamiya Hiroshi (Art) and Ryota Ohsaka (Nice) leading the voice cast, I can’t say no to giving this a try.
Sid Probably one of the more interesting new titles of the season. The art really pulled me in when watching the preview, and it’s giving just enough to seem interesting while still holding back as to not give everything away. I’ll give this one a go as well.
Joshua Ooooo Minor miracles… Another one of those weird word plays. Shall give it a shot.


Hoozuki no Reitetsu

Hoozuki no Reitetsu
Release Date: January 10, 2014
Animation Production: Wit Studio
PV

Summary: Hoozuki is the aide to the great king of Hell, King Enma. Calm and super-sadistic, Hoozuki tries to resolve the various problems in Hell, including a rampaging Momotarou and his companions. However, he also likes spending his free time on his hobbies, such as fawning over cute animals and raising “Goldfish Flowers.”

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorHiro Kaburaki (Episode Director Kimi ni Todoke – From Me to You (TV) )
Series CompositionMidori Gotou (Genshiken Second Season (TV))

Hiroki Yasumoto (Germanyas Hōzuki
Atsumi Tanezaki (Natsume, Asakoas Karashi

Impression:
Chidori3souske After the success of Wit studio’s Shingeki no Kyoujin last 2013, will they make another epic anime? I guess we’ll just have to find out. First, I kind of like the animation style of this series cause it resembles those old Japanese paintings (I think it’s kind of appropriate). Seems like it’ll be fun to follow the life of Hoozuki who seems like he’s the one who manages hell, it really intrigues me how these demons POV differ from humans. I just hope the jokes in this series would be relatable to those who are not familiar to Japanese folklore just like myself. I’ll try a couple of eps.
Hikaru  I’m fond of the supernatural but the art style does not really appeal to me just yet. Pass.
Sid The PV actually made this anime seem quite funny. I’ll probably give it a good 3-4 episodes before making my decision. I could definitely see it being good enough to kill time if anything.
Joshua Yay! More folksy stuff. Shall follow this.


Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha

Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha
Release Date: Jan 16, 2014
Animation Production: Production IMS
PV, PV 2

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorToru Takahashi (Storyboard NANA (TV))
Series CompositionTouko Machida (Is This a Zombie? (TV))
MusicTakeshi Senoo (Aria the Origination (TV))

Summary: Fushimi Inari is a shy, not-so-bright middle school girl living in Kyoto’s Fushimi ward. She has a crush on her classmate Tanbbashi, but cannot express her feelings. One day, as thanks for helping a fox pup, the deity Ukanomitamanokami grants her the ability to change her form.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Ooooh~ I love the PV and I kind of fancy the romance genre so yep I’m going to watch this. Ah I forgot to note that the music on this one would be definitely awesome cause I love the work of Takeshi Sanoo on the Aria series and Maaya Sakamoto and May’n would sing the ED and OP song so yep definitely a solid OST.
Hikaru  Another supernatural series for the season, this time aimed for the younger girls. Pass.
Sid The plot seems kind of weird to me. She is a shy girl who has a crush on some kid but can’t do anything about it? I’m really hoping this doesn’t do some weird “change into a good looking girl” thing to boost her confidence. As Hikaru said this isn’t aimed at my demographic so I’ll pass for now.
Joshua Thank you for filling in my Gingitsune void. I will watch this!


Mahou Sensou

Mahou Sensou
Release Date: January 10, 2014
Animation Production: Madhouse Studios
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorYuzo Sato (KaijiIron ManGokusen)
Series CompositionKazuyuki Fudeyasu (Hajime no Ippo Rising)
MusicMasato Kōda (Arpeggio of Blue Steel)

Summary: In this modern magic action story, Takeshi Nanase is an ordinary high school boy who has a somewhat dark past. Due to certain circumstances, he formed a “fake” couple with his childhood friend Kurumi Isoshima, but otherwise, he lives a normal life. However, one day, he comes across a girl named Mui Aiba, in a uniform he has never seen before, collapsed on the school campus. This encounters changes Takeshi’s destiny completely. Mui tells Takeshi that she is a magician, and she apologizes, for she turned Takeshi into a magician, too. What Takeshi once knew as one world is actually two — the world where magicians live and the world where humans live.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Ah another light novel adaptation by Madhouse hopefully it won’t be as rushed as Kaminai. Well, the summary looks interesting (albeit having a been there done that feel to it), love the action packed PV and seems like the staff looks legit so yep I’ll try a couple of eps. 
Hikaru Having Kenichi Suzumura (Kazumi Ida) and Mamoru Miyano (Takeshi Nanase) in the voice cast are bonus points for me. For a potentially interesting story, I will give this a few episodes try.
Sid So basically what I’m understanding is that this guy is going to form a fake relationship with a childhood friend that actually likes him, then finds this new girl who he slowly falls in love with and leaves the childhood friend in the dust. All the while you’ll slowly learn about his ‘dark past’ and how he was fated to be a magician. Eh I’ll give it a shot, why not?
Joshua This has a Toyko Ravens feel. That is a good thing. I like Toyko Ravens. will give it a shot.


Maken-Ki! Two

Makin-Ki! Two
Release Date: January 16, 2014
Animation Production: Xebec
PV

Summary: Second season of Maken-Ki!

Impression:
Chidori3souske What?! There’s a season 2 of this?! Pass.
Hikaru Never saw the first. Pass.
Sid Nope.
JoshuaAhem. I watched the first season. I will follow this. Power to oppai.


Mikakunin de Shinkoukei

Mikakunin de Shinkoukei
Release Date: January 09, 2014
Animation Production: Dogakobo
PV, PV2

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorYoshiyuki Fujiwara  (Episode director Attack on Titan (TV))
Series CompositionFumihiko Shimo (Fate/stay night (TV))

Eriko Matsui (Isuzuas Benio Yonomori
Haruka Terui as Kobeni Yonomori
Wataru Hatano (Redfox, Gajeelas Hakuya Mitsumine

Summary: The comedy revolves around Kobeni Yonomori, who on her 16th birthday suddenly has a young man with little presence named Hakuya Mitsumine and his younger sister Mashiro appear in front of her. It turns out that Hakuya is her fiancee, and Mashiro is her future sister-in-law. The three (and Konbeni’s older sister Benio) start living together underneath the same roof, and hilarious happenings occur.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Newbie director and VAs. I smell a mediocre production so it’s a Pass.
Hikaru Pass.
Sid I think I’ll give this one a go because I’m looking for another comedy along side Seitokai. It might end up being a flop but hopefully I’ll get a few chuckles in.
Joshua I want to pass this… but.. I think i’ll end up watching a few of it.


Nisekoi

Nisekoi
Release Date: January 11, 2014
Animation Production: Shaft
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorAkiyuki Shinbo (Puella Magi Madoka Magica)
MusicSatoru Kousaki (Bakemonogatari )

Summary: As a child, Raku Ichijo made a secret promise with his childhood sweetheart, keeping a pendant as a memento while his love took the key. He dreams of one day meeting his past love, but years later, reality smashes his hopes when Chitoge Kirisaki accidentally knees him in the face…
Though Raku’s a normal high schooler, his family heads the notorious yakuza gang the Shuei-Gumi faction! And he’s dragged into family affairs when he’s forced into a relationship with Chitoge, the daughter of a rival gang’s boss! Despite their constant spats, the two somehow fool everyone with their false relationship. Raku then discovers that Chitoge has a mysterious key from her past, which she can’t remember… Plus, two other girls appear with keys as well—Kosaki Onodera and Marika Tachibana! Caught in the midst of this love maelstrom, even more complications arise for Raku when his class decides on Romeo and Juliet as the class’s play for the school festival. Can the two false lovebirds pull off the impossible and make the play a success

Impression:
Chidori3souske This is the series that I’m most excited about. Not only is it animated by SHAFT, I’ve read the manga and found it really interesting and hilarious. OH YES SHAFT MAKING A ROMCOM I’M SO F***ING EXCITED!! A guaranteed watch! I just hope Shinbo knows how to direct a Romcom. Oh I almost forgot that Claris would be singing the OP so yep another plus for me.
Hikaru Could this be the only romcom title this season? I haven’t read the manga but I will give this a few episodes try.
Sid I’m a Shaft fan-boy, everyone knows that by now. How could I pass this one up? Seems like it might be an interesting ride. Watching it for the season.
Joshua OMG THEY FINALLY DECIDED TO MAKE THIS INTO AN ANIME! I NEED TO WATCH THIS RELIGIOUSLY!


Nobunaga the Fool

Nobunaga the Fool
Release Date: January 06, 2014
Animation Production: Satelight
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorEiichi Sato (Slayers Next)
Series CompositionShoji Kawamori (Macross 7)
MusicMasaru Yokoyama (Arakawa Under the Bridge)

Yōko Hikasa (Akiyama, Mioas d’Arc, Jeanne Kaguya
Mamoru Miyano (Mashima, Taichi ) as Oda, Nobunaga
Minori Chihara (Nagato, Yuki ) as Ichihime

Summary: The Western Planet and the Eastern Planet. Once upon a time, the two sides were bound by the “Dragon Pulse” spanning the heavens.
The civilization that once had prospered has now turned to a tale of dreams, as the inextinguishable flames of war tear the realm asunder. The two planets remain engulfed in endless battles.
The return of the super technology known as “sacred treasures” could revolutionize the world order, but no one knows of them but one person — a “heretical girl.”  A girl from the Western Planet, Jeanne Kaguya d’Arc, saw heavenly visions of the birth of a “Star Messiah” who will save the world. She embarks on a journey to the Eastern Planet with Leonardo da Vinci, “the one who observes the world.” They come across the heretic of the Eastern Planet and “the greatest fool of the day,” Oda Nobunaga.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Wow that was one amazing PV. Awesome another mecha show and it’s even from Shoji Kawamori!  Interesting premise, a possible romance and lots and lots of mecha. Yep definitly going to follow this every week!
Hikaru The intensity of the battles in the PV sent shivers down my spine! This is an interesting mix of past and future with Oda Nobunaga piloting a mecha. I’m excited to see this soon! And we have a strong and experienced seiyuu cast to boot! Definitely on my list!
Sid This could be pretty fun to watch. The PV was pretty cool too. It seemed to have that good mix of hope and darkness that make up a captivating anime. I also haven’t seen a really good mech anime in a long time. I’m actually pretty excited to see what this anime has to offer.
Joshua Ooo historical re-constructions. Will watch it.


Nobunagun

Nobunagun
Release Date: January 04, 2014
Animation Production: Bridge
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorNobuhiro Kondo (Sgt. Frog)
Series CompositionHiroshi Yamaguchi
MusicYutaka Shinya

Shiori Mutō as Shio Ogura
Yuu Asakawa (Rideras Isaac Newton/Jess Beckham
Chiwa Saito (Senjougahara, Hitagias Geronimo

Summary: Shio Ogura is a Japanese high school student, who is visiting Taiwan on a school trip when she is suddenly attacked by monsters. Agents known as “E-Gene Holders” from the government agency DOGOO also arrive, who wield weapons infused with the spirits of historical figures. Shio is revealed to also be an E-Gene Holder when the soul of Oda Nobunaga awakens after she tries to rescue a friend.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Unlike the other Nobunaga show this season the PV just failed to impress me and the premise seems very cliche. It’s also from a newbie studio with the staff’s not so amazing track records, this series just doesn’t look that great. I guess I’ll just have to pass on this one.
Hikaru A play of words for Nobunaga and a gun as his form in this title. The “wild” portrayal of his personality in the hands of a school girl does not really suit my taste. Pass.
Sid I want to watch this one because it makes everyone seem really twisted. I don’t think I’ll appreciate it as much as other Nobunaga spin-offs, but as a stand alone story it might be pretty exciting. I’ll give this probably 3-4 episodes.
Joshua Another historical reconstruction!? WILL WATCH IT TOO!


Noragami

Noragami
Release Date: January 06, 2014
Animation Production: Bones
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorKotaro Tamura
Series CompositionDeko Akao

Summary: At the boundary between this realm and another, there live eight million gods, dead spirits who serve the gods, and other assorted spirits who help and meddle in the affairs of humans. A sweet middle school girl named Hiyori Iki has been enduring bullying from her classmates, and she goes to the restroom by herself to cry. Scrawled on the bathroom wall is a phone number and the message, “I solve your troubles.”
After Hiyori calls the number, she encounters a homeless, unemployed figure who proclaims himself a “god.” Crude, unpredictable, and worthless, he does not answer people’s prayers and no one acknowledges him. However, he has one sole power, the ability to cut all who pass between this world and the next

Impression:
Chidori3souske I’ve read the manga and it’s interesting at first but got boring as the story goes on. Btw the cast are all big names if you check out the full list and with that I’m willing to give this a couple of eps.
Hikaru Yato is a minor god who resorts to helping out people in exchange for 5 yen so he can eventually have his own shrine. The whimsical god, voiced by Kamiya Hiroshi, will definitely drive the story of this series. Another yes on my list.
Sid I can’t say that I’m a big fan of the age group, but some anime tend to brush it aside enough to not think about it. It’s definitely a different story from a lot of the anime I’ve seen this Winter so I’m willing to give it a shot.
Joshua Gods and fighting. Yea. I’m going to watch it.


Nourin

No-Rin
Release Date: January 11, 2014
Animation Production: Silver Link
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorShin Oonuma (Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Illya)
Series CompositionMichiko Yokote (Genshiken Second Season)

Shintarō Asanuma (Mayuzumi, Takumuas Kōsaku Hatta
Yukari Tamura (Takamachi, Nanohaas Kinoshita, Ringo
Chiwa Saito as Natsumi Betsuk

Emiri Katō as Wakadanna
Kana Hanazawa as Minori Nakazawa
Marina Inoue as Kochō Yoshida

Summary: When the national idol Kusakabe Yuka suddenly retired from the entertainment business, it shocked the world and it devastated teenager Hata Kosaku. Kosaku was Yuka’s biggest fan and her departure left him depressed. His classmates at the Tamo Agriculture School finally are able to get him to leave his room and attend his class, but to everyone’s amazement, Kusakabe Yuka (her stage name) comes into the class under the name Kinoshita Ringo as a transfer student. Kosaku realizes he has the once in a lifetime opportunity to get to personally know his dream girl and, together with his group of friends, try to find out why she is here and become closer than just classmates.

Impression:
Chidori3souske That sexy Chiwa Saito voice at the begining was priceless. The PV isn’t that interesting nor the premise but I want to watch this just for the laughs and that amazing seiyuu lineup so I guess I’ll try a couple of eps. 
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Hahaha no I’m good. I don’t think I watching a main character who locks and cries to himself in a room just because his idol retired is going to keep me sane. Pass.
Joshua This is something that can totally happen to otakus! In case this happens to my Morning Musume, I shall watch this for reference.


Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga.

Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga
Release Date: January 31, 2014
Animation Production: Project No. 9
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorHiroyuki Hata (Episode director Gintama)
Series CompositionHideyuki Kurata ((The) World God Only Knows )

Chinami Hashimoto as Mitsuki Kanzaki
Junji Majima (Aikawa, Ayumuas Yūya Kanzaki

Summary: In the romance comedy, a girl named Mitsuki Kanzaki lives with her step-brother Yuya after her mother remarries. One day, Mitsuki is possessed by the self-proclaimed spirit of a young girl, Hiyori Kotobuki. Hiyori (in Mitsuki’s body) must fall in love with Yuya to move towards the “Gates of Heaven.”

Impression:
Chidori3souske The premise look fun so I guess I’ll try the first ep. 
Hikaru Another brother-sister “love” story? Pass.
Sid It doesn’t matter if you’re a step brother/sister, that’s still weird. Pass.
Joshua … must watch a few.


Saki- Zenkoku-hen

Saki: Zenkoku-hen
Release Date: January 06, 2014
Animation Production: Studio Gokumi
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorManabu Ono (Dragonaut – The Resonance)
Series CompositionTatsuhiko Urahata (Horizon in the Middle of Nowhere)

Summary: Sequel to the Saki series covering the Inter High School Mahjong Championships.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Oh yes finally after the nth year they finally animated this arc! I love the first season because of the outrageous mahjong battles and of course the yuri, I really missed this series. The Miyanaga sister’s face off is finally here! Will watch for my daily dose of mahjong and yuri.
Hikaru I haven’t seen the previous season. Pass.
Sid Haven’t watched the first season, pass.
Joshua Pass.


Sakura Trick

Sakura Trick
Release Date: January 10, 2014
Animation Production: Studio Deen
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorKen’ichi Ishikura (Hidamari Sketch × Hoshimittsu)
Series CompositionKen’ichi Ishikura

Summary: The story revolves around Haruka and Yuu, two girls who go to a high school that is slated to be shut down in three years. To share something special between them, they share a kiss, and their relationship deepens from that moment onward.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Oh yes a yuri comedy this season! You know how I like yuri so yep definitely going to watch this one! 
Hikaru No yuri for me. Pass.
Sid Is this supposed to be serious or funny? The PV made it look kind of funny like Yuri Yuri, but also kind of creepy perverted. I guess one episode?
Joshua Pa… oh who am I kidding. Will watch it.


Seitokai Yakuindomo

Seitokai Yakuindomo*
Release Date: January 04, 2014
Animation Production: GoHands
PV, PV2

Notable Staff/Cast:
Series CompositionMakoto Nakamura
ScriptMakoto Nakamura & Tomoko Koyama

Summary: The second season of Seitokai Yakuindomo

Takatoshi is a new student in a recently gender-integrated high school, and is asked to join the student council as the vice president. Thus begins his days as the only normal boy among 3 female student council officers.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Unfortunately Iw asn’t able to watch the first season so this one is a pass.
Hikaru Didn’t see the first season. Pass.
Sid Finally a second season after all those brilliant OVA. I was waiting for this for years. My most looked forward to anime of the season.
Joshua Pass


Sekai Seifuku- Bouryaku no Zvezda

Sekai Seifuku: Bouryaku no Zvezda
Release Date: January 12, 2014
Animation Production: A-1 Pictures
PV, PV2, PV3

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorTensai Okamura (Blue Exorcist)
Series CompositionMeteo Hoshizora (Type-Moon) & Tensai Okamura
MusicTatsuya Katou (Free! – Iwatobi Swim Club)

Misaki Kuno (Seraraas Hoshimiya, Kate/Venera-sama

Summary: What does it take to conquer the world?! Every leader of the past has thought of it… but all they have done was to merely dream of its greatness. World domination…nobody has been able to achieve it. Until one little girl by the name of Kate Hoshimiya came along. Kate Hoshimiya will shock the world! How was she able to carry out such a magnificent stunt? So frightful! So glorious! Could this be…the Zvezda Plot?! Let the light of our great Zvezda shine upon this land far and wide!

Impression:
Chidori3souske Details are scarce in this original series by A-1 Pictures. The staff are not that impressive but it seems like the OST of this one would be one of its strong points. Maaya Sakamoto would sing the OP and Aoi Yuki would sing the ED song also, Tatsuya Katou would be behind the music. This looks like a fun and outrageous series (just by looking at the character design) so I’ll try a couple of episodes.
Hikaru A strategy for conquering the world makes a seemingly absurd plot. Pass.
Sid I’ll give this one a couple episodes, mostly for the gas masks. I mean… they’re just so cool.
Joshua Pass… unless I hear people telling me that it is the next Code Geass


SoniAni- Super Sonico The Animation

SoniAni: Super Sonico The Animcation
Release Date: January 06, 2014
Animation Production: White Fox
PV, Pv2

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorKenichi Kawamura (Rozen Maiden)
ScriptYousuke Kuroda (Ano Natsu de Matteru)
MusicGo Sakabe (Date A Live)

Ayano Yamamoto as Super Sonico
Mai Goto (Hayama, Mizukias Fujimi, Suzu
Mami Ozaki (Isuzu, Hanaas Watanuki, Fuuri

Summary: Super Sonico is an 18-year old college student who plays guitar for the three-girl band Fastest Speed in Space and models for pin-ups. In spite of her busy schedule, she still finds time to her grandmother at her restaurant. One night, her band members Suzu and Fuuri, are late to a concert, forcing her to play alone. The result of that show will have far-reaching consequences for Sonico.

Impression:
Chidori3souske I like the work of the script writer Yousuke Kuroda but a series based from a mascot character, it doesn’t look promising. I guess I’ll have to pass on this one.
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Pass.
Joshua The kawaii level… is there. I need to follow this.


Space Dandy

Space Dandy
Release Date: January 05, 2014
Animation Production: Bones
PV, PV2, PV3 (English Dub)

Notable Staff/Cast:
Chief DirectorShinichiro Watanabe (Cowboy Bebop)
DirectorShingo Natsume (Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei)

Script:
Dai Sato (Ergo Proxy)
Hayashi Mori
Ichiro Okouchi (Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion))
Keiko Nobumoto  (Wolf’s Rain)
Kimiko Ueno (Shin chan)

Junichi Suwabe (Archeras Dandy
Banjou Ginga (Yosakuas Commodore Perry

Summary: Space Dandy is a space hunter, someone who is paid to search for new, undiscovered alien species. It’s an industry where the prize goes to the person who finds aliens the fastest. Dandy searches unknown planets for strange beings with his companions, QT the worn-out robot and Meow from Betelgeuse. Meanwhile, they’re being chased by minions of the Gogol Empire, for reasons that are still a mystery.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Holy! Look at the staff and cast! All seasoned director, script writers and VAs. Sure the PV looked crazy but I love it! It reminds me of Cowboy Bebop with a touch of MIB (Men in Black). This is going to be one crazy ride so count me in!
Hikaru No dandy for me.
Sid Too out there for me, and that’s saying a lot.
Joshua Pass. Never understood dandy.


Strange

Strange+
Release Date: January 10, 2014
Animation Production: Seven
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorTakashi Nishikawa (Natsuiro Kiseki )
ScreenplayTakashi Nishikawa

Summary: Kou is searching for his older brother Takumi, who left home and has gone missing in the city. Worried that he’s in trouble, Kou decides not to go home until he’s found him, only to find him all too easily. Takumi, it turns out, has become head of the Mikuni Detective Agency, and has no intention of going back home. Kou decides that if he can’t make Takumi return, then he’ll join the agency himself.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Staff isn’t impressive and the premise look so mediocre but we got a well known cast but that’s not enough to make me watch this series. Pass.
Hikaru A mediocre plot that deserves its title. Pass.
Sid As a younger sibling the plot is kind of relatable (I guess?), so I’ll give it a few episodes. I’d hate to throw away a chance for a solid anime with a name like Strange+.
Joshua Hmm..Probably pass.


Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta

Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta
Release Date: January 06, 2014
Animation Production: TMS Entertainment
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorToshimasa Suzuki (Lagrange – The Flower of Rin-ne)
Series CompositionShinichi Inotsume (Ristorante Paradiso)

Natsuki Hanae (Haimura, Kirias Kalel Albus (Carl La Il)

Summary: This is a tale of a prince who lost everything leaves for a journey with no guarantee of returning to his hometown safely. With hatred and revenge in his mind, he met several people that taught him about friendship…and love.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Brilliant staff, interesting premise and a solid voice cast. This series looks really interesting. Oh and Aoi Yuki and Ayana Taketatsu’s ‘Petit my Lady’ duo would sing the OP song. Yep I’ll watch this series.
Hikaru The will to protect that which is precious to him. The pilot’s feelings resonates in anyone who has ever loved. A promising light novel adaptation on my list.
Sid It seems to have a good split between dark and light themes. I’ll give this one a watch to the end. Maybe I’ll pick up the light novel at some point as well.
Joshua Will watch it because its a light novel adaptation.


Wake Up, Girls!

Wake Up, Girls!
Release Date: January 11, 2014
Animation Production: Ordet
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorYutaka Yamamoto (Kannagi)
Series CompositionTouko Machida (The IDOLM@STER)

Summary: Green Leaves Entertainment is a tiny production company on the verge of going out of business in Sendai, the biggest city in Japan’s northeastern Tohoku region. The agency once managed the careers of magicians, photo idols, fortune-tellers, and other entertainers, but its last remaining client finally quit. In danger of having zero talent (literally), the president Tange hatches an idea of producing an idol group. On the brash president’s orders, the dissatisfied manager Matsuda heads out to scout raw talent. Matsuda makes a fateful encounter with a certain girl….

Impression:
Chidori3souske There’s something fascinating with idol series like Love Live and The IDOLM@STER (I enjoyed both shows btw). Having a dream and watching those girls how they achieve those dreams really struck some heart strings in me. Couple it with awesome performances, songs and dance animation, those are the reasons why I totally enjoy idol shows. A new idol show from the same scipt writer as the Idolm@ster, I will definitely watch this one!  
Hikaru Never been interested in idol-related titles (save for Utapri). Pass.
Sid Well.. I did watch Idol M@ster so it would be kind of rude to not even give this one a shot.
Joshua 


Witch Craft Works

Witch Craft Works
Release Date: January 05, 2014
Animation Production: J.C. Staff
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorTsutomu Mizushima (Girls und Panzer)
Series CompositionTsutomu Mizushima

Script:
Michiko Yokote (Gintama)
Reiko Yoshida (K-ON! )
Tsutomu Mizushima

Ayako Kawasumi (Himemiya, Chikaneas Komachi Takamiya

Summary: Takamiya Honoka is a regular student whose only problem seems to be that he sits next to Kagari Ayaka, the school’s #1 beauty. They have never spoken to each other before and any small interaction between them immediately results in her fanclub beating him. Yet when a falling part of the school’s building is about to send him to the afterlife, it’s Kagari that comes to his rescue. Only… she’s dressed as a witch, carrying him in her arms and floating on a broom?! Kagari tells him it is her mission to protect him and that now she can finally protect him openly rather than undercover.

Impression:
Chidori3souske A Rom-Com by no other than J.C. Staff! The premise is interesting and the staff have good track records so yep this show is looking good already! I’ll defnitely watch this series! 
Hikaru Why does the most powerful witch in the world want to protect Takamiya Honoka? This romcom manga adaptation has me intrigued. Will give this a few episodes try.
Sid I’m kind of excited to watch this one. Probably the only thing that will turn me away is if Honoka ends up being a complete loser. Though it seems to me like he’s just some chill guy going about his days.
Joshua This doesn’t strike me as something awesome. Will wait for Hikaru’s first impression on this.


Wizard Barristers- Benmashi Cecil

Wizard Barristers: Benmashi Cecil
Release Date: Jan 12, 2014
Animation Production: Arms
PV, PV2, PV3

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorYasuomi Umetsu (KiteGalilei Donna)
Series CompositionYasuomi Umetsu
ScriptMichiko Itou ((The) Pet Girl of Sakurasou)

Summary: The story takes place in Tokyo in 2018, where normal humans and those who can use magic coexist. As a result, there are laws against using magic, and a “magic courtroom” exists to preside over lawsuits regarding magic use. In these cases, “Benmashi” or wizard barristers defend those who use magic. The anime follows Cecil, the youngest Benmashi in history, and her associates as they defend clients in these cases.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Holy S*** that PV sure look so badass! The animation is so fluid and the character design and even the animation style reminds me a lot of Kite which is not surprising because of director-san. I love the concept of magicians having their own lawyers but I don’t know how could ARMS handle a not so ecchi show. Though the staff have ahandled impressive shows before (The likes of Elfen Lied) so I’m giving them my confidence. I so freakin excited to watch this show!
Hikaru I’m having an overdoes of magic, battles, and teens. Pass.
Sid I don’t want to pick up too many this season so I’ll keep this on the back burner just in case I have extra time on my hands.
Joshua Shall watch this in case I become skilled in magic. If you doubt me, I’ll turn you into a toad.


Z:X IGNITION

Z/X IGNITION
Release Date: January 10, 2014
Animation Production: Nippon Ichi Software
PV

Notable Staff/Cast
DirectorYuji Yamaguchi (Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works)
Character DesignJunko Watanabe (Say “I love you.”)

Hiro Shimono (Katsuragi, Keimaas Asuka Tennōji
Aya Uchida (Minami, Kotorias Rigel
Maaya Uchida (Takanashi, Rikkaas Chitose Aoba
Yui Ogura (Kanda, Yuukoas Azumi Kagamihara

Summary: The story is set in the not-so-distant future. Five “Black Points” suddenly appeared around the world as portals to parallel worlds. Immediately after, strange creatures began their invasion from these portals. These creatures are the inhabitants of five worlds — the same worlds in different timeframes. In order to ensure their own future timeframe survives, each of the five invasion forces battle to wipe the other future timeframes out. The key is one card-shaped device.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Not particularly fond aniem based from a trading card game so I’ll pass on this one. 
Hikaru Game-based anime, and a trading card game at that, do not usually fare well. Pass.
Sid I’m done with game based anime. Pass.
Joshua Pass


Shorts

Minna Atsumare! Falcom Gakuen

Minna Atsumare! Falcom Gakuen
Release Date: January 05, 2014
Animation Production: DAX Production
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorPippuya
ScriptKenichi Yamashita

Yuuki Kaji as Adol Christin
Akemi Kanda as Estelle Bright

Summary: Characters from various games released by Falcom (e.g. Dragon Slayer, The Legend of Heroes, and Ys series) come together in a crazy academy life in celebration of the game maker’s 30th anniversary.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Summary even the PV doesn’t look interesting so it’s a Pass.
Hikaru Looks like a kiddy show. Pass.
Sid Pass.
Joshua The kawaii… SHALL WATCH IT.


Pupa

Pupa
Release Date: January 10, 2014
Animation Production: Studio Deen
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorTomomi Mochizuki
Original creatorSayaka Mogi

Summary: The “life-and-death sibling” story follows Utsutsu and Yume Hasegawa, a boy and his little sister who find themselves all alone. One day, Yume sees a mysterious red butterfly and her body undergoes a strange metamorphosis—into a creature that eats humans. Utsutsu struggles to find a way to restore his sister.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Why the hell did one of my most anticipated show thi winter turn out to be an anime short?! Anyway will still watch it ’cause I just love gory series like this. Too bad this one will lack the budget of a full pledge tv series. 
Hikaru An intriguing horror story if you can get past the gore. The sound of eating and the image of human innards can be pretty disturbing. A pass for now.
Sid I was waiting for this to come out since last season. Very excited to watch. The PV was absolutely horrific and beautiful.
Joshua I am worried that this might be over-censored. but I’ve been looking forward to this for months. Will follow it when its out.


Pupipo!

Pupipo!
Release Date: December 21, 2013
Animation Production: AIC Plus
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorKaoru Suzuki
Original creatorRensuke Oshikiri

Chisato Mori as Pō-chan
Shiho Sasaki as Wakaba Himeji

Summary: The story centers around Wakaba Himeji, a fifth-grade girl who can see things others cannot. As a result, she is scared by her surroundings, keeps her distance from others, and lives a lonely life. One day, she meet a mysterious soft, pink creature that cries “Pupipo!” — and her life is changed from that day forward.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Interesting, this serie’s genre is horror, comedy. I wonder how will that work out? Will pass on this one ’cause I’ve already got a LOT on my list.
Hikaru Kiddy show = Pass.
Sid Maybe…? One episode test.
Joshua It’s called Pupipo! How can I not watch it?


Robot Girls Z

Toei Robot Girls Z
Release Date: January 04, 2014
Animation Production: Toei Animation
PV, PV2 (First 4min of the series)

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorHiroshi Ikehata
Series CompositionKazuho Hyodo

Inori Minase as Gre-chan
Kazusa Aranami as Grenda-san
Mariko Honda as Z-chan

Summary: The story revolves around a new team of “Toei robot girls” named “Team Z” that is made up of three girls based on Toei’s Mazinger Z franchise: Mazinger Z, Great Mazinger, and UFO Robot Grendizer. Usually they perform in activities around Nerima ward in Tokyo to raise the awareness of the promising future energy source “Photon Power” (koushiryoku). However, there are times when “Mechanical Beast” team of girls emerge from the “Subterranean Empire” and attempt to steal the energy. Thus “Team Z” has to battle them to prevent this, though sometimes they just go and beat up the “bad girls” to relieve stress.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Oh lol the famous robots (The only one I recognize is Mazinger Z) of Toei Animation just became girls, oh Japan you never fail to amaze me. Anyway even though it looked fun with the old school special attack in the PV, I’ll pass on this one.
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Pass.
Joshua Pass


Tonari no Seki-kun

Tonari no Seki-kun
Release Date: January 06, 2014
Animation Production: Shin-Ei Animation
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorYuji Mutoh
Original creatorTakuma Morishige

Hiro Shimono as Toshinari Seki
Kana Hanazawa as Rumi Yokoi

Summary: The original manga revolves around a girl named Yokoi who sits next to a boy only known as Seki-kun. During class, Seki-kun continues to not pay attention and instead creates amazing little distractions, such as a detailed golf course with the course’s hole being a dent in his desk, or an entire dramatic war being played out by paper shogi pieces. Yokoi often finds herself getting reluctantly interested in his games, even though they always seem to end up getting HER in trouble with the teacher!

Impression:
Chidori3souske I didn’t find the PV funny but the summary indicates this will be a fun series. Sorry but I got a lot on my plate already so I’ll pass on this one.
Hikaru Not interesting enough. Pass.
Sid I think it actually might be kind of funny. I’ll watch it.
Joshua Pass


Onee-chan ga Kita

Onee-chan ga Kita
Release Date: January 09, 2014
Animation Production: C2C
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorYoshihide Yuuzumi  (Yurumates3Dei)

Aimi Terakawa (Tokiwa, Kazumi) as Tomoya Mizuhara 
Juri Nagatsuma (Makino, Kannaas Ichika Mizuhara 

Summary: The story revolves around Tomoya Mizuhara, a 13-year-old boy who suddenly gains a big sister when his father remarries. 17-year-old Ichika is a little strange, and her affection for Tomoya is rather overwhelming, if not scary. On top of things, Ichika’s friend Ruri is the ultimate sadist. Then there is Ichika’s big-breasted quarter-Japanese friend Marina.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Premise is not interesting so it’s a pass.
Hikaru An elder sister with a brother complex? Pass.
Sid Passing this like a hot potato.
Joshua Ooo… Akisora? hmm.. will watch a few.

One thought on “Winter 2013-2014 Anime Preview”

  1. I plan on watching Chuunibyou. I saw the original back in June and fell in love with it. Another solid Kyoto Animation series.

    I will also be watching Space Dandy. It will be showing here in America first which is pretty significant since it hasn’t happened much in the past. So the dub. for me. First episode wasn’t anything too special, but I gotta give it some more time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *