Spring 2014 Anime Preview

Data gathered are from: AnimePH, ANN, MAL, and AniChart

Spring 2014 Anime Chart v2

TV Series

Abarenbou Kishi!! Matsutarou

Abarenbou Kishi!! Matsutarou
Release Date: April 06, 2014
Animation Production: Toei Animation

Notable Staff/Cast:
Minami, Reiko – Mizutani, Yuko (Kuramitsu, Mihoshi)

Summary: Matsutarou Sakaguchi is a giant roughneck man with strength far beyond ordinary people. He never uttered words like “work hard,” “strive,” and “dream” like the typical shounen manga protagonist. However, he is stronger than anyone and peerless in sumo wrestling. His greatest weakness is his own carefree personality. He grows into a full-fledged sumo wrestler.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Can’t find more info nor a PV on this anime. The summary just doesn’t interest me and add the fact that I don’t like sports themed anime so this one is a pass.
Hikaru Sumo-wrestling? Pass.
Sid I like the fact that he isn’t talking about dreams and working hard but I also have no interest in sumo wrestling. I don’t think it will be bad, but I don’t think I’d enjoy it either.
Joshua I will watch a few episodes to see if the anime lives up to its “different from the shonen fighting/sports genre” tagline.


Akuma no Riddle

Akuma no Riddle
Release Date: April 04, 2014
Animation Production: Diomedea
PV, PV2

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorKusakawa, Keizo (Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha A’sSekirei )
Series Composition: Kiyoko Yoshimura (Chrono CrusadeLinebarrels of Iron)
Script:
Ayuna Fujisaki (Aria the Origination(The) Story of Saiunkoku)
Masahiro Yokotani
Music: Fujisawa, Yoshiaki (Love Live! School idol project)

Summary: The story is set at Myoujou Academy, a private girls’ boarding school. The 10th year’s Kurogumi class has 12 assassins with their sights on one target, Haru Ichinose. Tokaku Azuma is a recent transfer student who is also targeting Ichinose, but she gradually develops feelings for Ichinose..

Impression:
Chidori3souske Yuri BANZAI! I’ve read the few chapters of the manga and found it really interesting. It has this usual yuri setting the silent and myterious girl and the kind and cute one then the silent girls get interested with the kind girl and the rest follow. Yup typical yuri setting but I do hope with only 7 chapters I wonder if this series will have enough material for a one cour show. Gonna check out the first few episodes but base from the track record of the director and the one behind the series compsition, we might get some problems. Oh well at least I’ll get my dose of yuri this season *shrugs*.
Hikaru No Yuri for me.
Sid I saw this pop up a while ago but I suppose it never got released. I’m really excited to see what it has to offer and hoping it doesn’t pull a Pupa. It didn’t seem to offer too much in the trailer but keeping up the mystery isn’t bad. I can’t say I’m the biggest fan of the art style though, but hopefully it’s just something I need to get used to.
Joshua It looks all dark and sinister. I have to watch this.


Atelier Escha & Logy

Atelier Escha & Logy ~Tasogare no Sora no Renkinjutsushi~

Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: Studio Gokumi
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
DirectorIwasaki, Yoshiaki  (Love HinaZero no Tsukaima)
Series Composition: Urahata, Tatsuhiko (Boku wa Tomodachi ga SukunaiKyoukaisenjou no Horizon)

Summary: This world has gone through many Dusks, and is slowly nearing its end. Within this world, in the western reaches of the “Land of Dusk,” there was a nation that prospered thanks to its use of alchemy. There, in order to survive the eventual arrival of the “Dusk End,” the people devoted their efforts to rediscover and recreate lost alchemic technologies. Rediscovered technology from the past era was gathered in the alchemy research city known as “Central,” where research was conducted on how to halt the advance of the twilight. One of the heroes is a young man who researched alchemy in Central, the other a girl living in a small town on the frontier. This girl’s name is Escha. In the process of using her knowledge of ancient alchemy to help others, she was assigned to the Development Department. The young man’s name is Logy. Having learned the newest alchemic techniques in Central, he requested a transfer to this understaffed town to make use of his abilities, and meets Escha when he is assigned to the Development Department as well. The two make a promise to use their alchemy together, and bring success to the Development Department.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Well the character design is top notch but the summary nor the PV failed to interest me and add the fact that this is based from a game so I’ll pass on this one 
Hikaru I’ve always been a fantasy fan so I’ll give this one a try. I do hope there’s a little conflict to spice up the story because the PV feels almost slice of life had I not known there is alchemy here. Also looking forward to hearing more of Ishikawa Kaito who gets another main role (a bishie one at that).
Sid When I read the description I was looking forward to the anime, but then I watched the trailer and it kind of pushed me in the other direction. It seems like it can be a good slice of life comedy so I will give it a shot. My biggest worry is the fact that it is based off a video game, and we all know how I feel about those!
Joshua It feels a little typical in the Final Fantasy way. But I do like Final Fantasy so I will watch a few episodes before I decide if I’ll continue watching it.


Baby Steps

Baby Steps
Release Date: April 06, 2014
Animation Production: Studio Pierrot

Summary: Maruo Eiitirou (E-Chan), a first year honor student, one day decides he’s unhappy with the way things are and lacks excercise. He finds a flyer for the Tennis Club and decides check it out. He’s instantly captivated by it. With no prior experience and poor physical conditioning, join E-Chan as he embarks on a tennis journey using his smarts, dedication and work ethic..

Impression:
Hikaru Not too fond of the character design and the story sounds plain. Pass.
Sid I’m skipping this one. I have no interest in tennis, and don’t really like the art style. I’m not saying it can’t be good; it might turn out to be one of the best sport anime out there. I just don’t see myself giving it a fair review.
Joshua I am not a sports fan.


Black Bullet

Black Bullet
Release Date: April 2014
Animation Production: Kinema Citrus
PV

Summary: A near future, where humans have been defeated by the viral parasites named Gastrea. They have been exiled into a small territory and live in despair, side-by-side in terror. In this world trapped in darkness— Rentaro, a boy living near Tokyo and member of the “Civil Security”—an organization specializing in fighting against the Gastrea—is used to accomplishing dangerous tasks. His partner is Enju, a precocious young girl. They fight thanks to their peculiar powers until one day, when they receive a special assignment from the government. This top secret mission is to prevent the destruction of Tokyo… Set in a near future, this thrilling heroic-action story… starts now!

Impression:
Hikaru I’ve been intrigued with the story, especially since I saw its booth in AnimeJapan 2014. Will be giving this a try.
Sid I’m not really sure why it is a ‘top secret’ mission to defend Tokyo. I’m pretty sure that should be a widely known mission, or at least extremely obvious when you live in a small section of the world since these gain CG bugs have taken over. I’ll definitely give a shot but I’m going ot guess it to be a low priority watch at best. The story doesn’t seem very unique and I doubt the characters will offer much to compensate.
Joshua Yes! I will watch this to satisfy my post apocalyptic world fantasies. (I am also certain that if the world does get over run by zombies/parasites/viruses etc. the world would be saved by the cutest idol in the world; read: Michishige Sayumi)


Blade & Soul

Black & Soul
Release Date: April 03, 2014
Animation Production: Gonzo
PV

Summary: A thousand-year peace is coming to an end. The fledgling Wind Empire strives to overthrow the fading Stratus Empire and unite the four continents in a new era of equality–albeit an equality enforced by military might. Amid this mortal trouble and strife come the ancient Darksiders, with the nefarious Jin Seoyeon as the harbinger of their return… and with the people fighting among themselves, there may be no one to oppose their evil plans and save the world. Based on the Korean MMORPG “Blade & Soul”.

Impression:
Hikaru Games don’t really do well in anime so I have to pass on this one.
Sid Alright so the story is pretty loosely tied together (probably because it is based on an MMO) and it’s most likely going to be ecchi, but I still think it will be entertaining. The fight scene in the trailer was pretty neat and I’m hoping that was only a small taste of what’s to come. Giving a standard three episode watch before making my decision in the first look.
Joshua I will watch this just to see how it pans out. But I’m generally not a fan of adaptations, so I will most likely drop this series.


Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou

Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou
Release Date: April 04, 2014
Animation Production: Brains Base

Summary: Usa, a high-school student aspiring to begin a bachelor lifestyle, moves into a new apartment only to discover that he not only shares a room with a perverted roommate that has an obsession for underaged girls, but also that another girl, Ritsu, a love-at-first-sight, is living in the same building as well!

Impression:
Hikaru I don’t find anything special with this story. Pass.
Sid I think this would have been pretty good if it wasn’t for the perverted roommate who is into underage girls. Actually it might still be bad, but it would probably be better. I’m willing to give this one two episodes before making my decision in hopes that they at least make him tastefully perverted (if that’s possible). I’ll put money down that the biggest downfall of this series will be the characters.
Joshua This has ecchi written all over it. But it seems that recently anime have tried to make ecchi more diverse and mainstream from the stereotypical “oops I found you naked in a shared bath” storyline. I’ll give this a shot.


Break Blade

Break Blade
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: Production I.G.

Summary: In the continent of Cruzon, an impending war between the Kingdom of Krisna and the nation of Athens is brimming. The people of this land are able to use quartz for whatever purpose they desire. Yet one person, Rygart Arrow, is not. He is an “un-sorcerer,” a person unable to use quartz. But this characteristic will enable him to pilot an ancient Golem, one strong enough to put up a fight against the invading army of Athens.

Impression:
Hikaru I loved the movies and I don’t mind seeing this series again. Superb mecha battles despite the generic plot. I wish they had done a sequel instead of a do-over though.
Sid I watched the movies of Break Blade and thought they were fantastic. But because of that I will not be picking up this series unless someone informs me that it is significantly different than the movies. I don’t really want to rewatch the same thing twice at a slower pace. For all of you who haven’t seen the movies I suggest watching them right now!
Joshua Nope. Not interested.


Captain Earth

Captain Earth
Release Date: April 2014
Animation Production: Bones
PV

Summary: One night right before summer vacation, Daiji Manatsu, a second-year in high school, sees a weird round rainbow floating in the sky above Seed Island (Shuushi/Tane Island) and ventures there alone. He has seen this rainbow before. With the memories of his father’s mysterious death and an encounter of a mysterious boy and girl, Daiji arrives on the island while the alarm of a building labeled “Earth Engine” is going off. Someone asks him “Are you a captain?” just as robotic intruders from Uranus called “Kiltgang” arrive. The battle around the shining stars is about to begin.

Impression:
Hikaru My second helping of mecha this season. Kamiyan on the cast is a definite bonus. I can’t wait!
Sid Another anime that doesn’t seem to have a strong story, but might be a pretty good mecha anime. I haven’t seen a solid in a while so I’m willing to give this one a shot. The PV didn’t look too bad so I might be delightfully surprised.
Joshua Nope not interested either.


Cardfight!! Vanguard Legion Mate-Hen

Cardfight!! Vanguard: Legion Mate-Hen
Release Date: 2014
Animation Production: TMS Entertainment

Summary: The fourth season of Cardfight!! Vanguard.

Impression:
Hikaru Never so the previous seasons so that’s a pass.
Sid I’m always going to skip these.
Joshua Nope. This is just trying to re-package the popularity of Pokémon… NOTHING IS BETTER THAN POKEMON!


Date A Live 2nd Season

Date A Live 2nd Season
Release Date: April 12, 2014
Animation Production: AIC Plus
PV

Summary: Second Season of Date a Live.

Impression:
Hikaru I saw the first so maybe I’ll go on with the second too. This is one super-powered harem in the literal sense.
Sid Didn’t watch the first season. Pass.
Joshua OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG FINALLY!!!!!!!


Fairy Tail

Fairy Tail (2014)
Release Date: April 05, 2014
Animation Production: A-1 Pictures
PV

Summary: Set in an imaginary world, the Earth Land, there exists a Mage Guild called “Fairy Tail”. Fairy Tail is stationed in the town Magnolia, residing in the Kingdom of Fiore, and is currently governed by Makarov, Guild’s master.

Impression:
Hikaru I loved Fairy Tail but I haven’t had the chance to catch up with both the anime and manga. Pass.
Sid Is this supposed to be a relaunch of Fairy Tail? I did really enjoy it when I first started watching it but soon fell off. I didn’t get bored or anything, but I have trouble staying with long standing anime. I may or may not pick this one up again. We’ll see.
Joshua Lost interest and realized that this series never ends… hence, I gave up on it.


Futsuu no Joshikousei ga Yatte Mita

Futsuu no Joshikousei ga [Locodol] Yatte Mita
Release Date: 2014
Animation Production: Feel

Summary: The story is about the life of a high school girl, Nanako, and her senpai, Yukari, who end up becoming the town’s local idols (locodol) upon the request of her uncle. However they would soon learn that their new idol lifestyle is less than stellar as they are only be interviewed by the town’s shopping center, appear on low-budget cable television, and perform concerts on top of the roof of department stores. The girls’ salaries come from the town’s taxes.

Impression:
Hikaru I was never really a fan of idol-related series (save for utapri). Pass.
Sid I think I need a break from the idol world and this season seems like a good start because of this series. I think this is probably one of the more boring idol series I’ve heard of, and honestly sounds like it would be more fitting as a short than a series. Pass.
Joshua I love idols, hence I would need to see if this is up to my wota standards.


Fuun Ishin Dai Shogun

Fuun Ishin Dai Shogun
Release Date: May 01, 2014
Animation Production: J.C. Staff
PV

Summary: In the late Edo period, Japan had experienced an unprecedented crisis by Kurofune (Black Ships), the ships from foreign countries. But a giant robot called Onigami, which has existed since ancient time, dispelled the Kurofune ships and the exclusion of foreigners was accomplished. The story begins in Japan where Meiji restoration in 1868 didn’t happen. The tagline says, “I can be the greatest man in the world, because I am a virgin!!”

Impression:
Hikaru Another title I saw in AnimeJapan. That tagline bothers me though so I’ll pass.
Sid Honestly I’m a little surprised that the anime is being produced by J.C. Staff. It doesn’t really seem like their area. Other than the decent looking art style I can’t say this anime has much going for it on the first look. The trailer wasn’t that great and obviously screams ecchi with the final quote. I mean are people going to try and have sex with him to reduce his powers? I’m not even going to give this one a shot, sorry.
Joshua This is super weird. And I’m given it a shot because its so weird.


Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka

Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: White Fox
PV

Summary: Kokoa arrives at the cafe Rabbit House one day, excited for rabbits. She actually all but lives in that cafe. She meets lots of different girls there, including a tiny and cool girl named Chino, a tough and soldier-esque girl named Lize, a spacey and quintessentially Japanese girl named Chiyo, and the ordinary but dignified Sharo.

Impression:
Hikaru Of girls and cute rabbits? No slice of life for me. Pass.
Sid Definitely passing on this one as well. Nothing about it seems fun to watch. It’s probably going to be the typical moe anime with very little story and a bunch of little girls. Not really my style, another pass.
Joshua OMG THIS LOOKS SO CUTE. BUNNIES AND CUTE GIRLS, what’s not to love?


Gokukoku no Brynhildr

Gokukoku no Brynhildr
Release Date: April 18, 2014
Animation Production: Arms
PV

Summary: The original manga revolves around high school boy Ryōta Murakami, who cannot forget his female childhood friend whom he let die in an accident. Feeling that he must fulfill their promise of proving the existence of aliens, he has continuously looked up at the sky as a member of the astronomy club. One day, a girl named Neko Kuroha who looks exactly like his childhood friend appears as a transfer student. It turns out that she is a magic-user that has run away from a research lab.

Impression:
Hikaru The story has potential in terms of some dark mystery. I hope they can give us a strong plot. Will give this a shot.
Sid I’m really looking forward to this one. It seems like it will be a great sci-fi (or is it fantasy?) with some heavy story and character development. The trailer gives off a dark atmosphere without giving away too much of the story. I can’t wait to see how this one turns out!
Joshua Ooo this sounds good. I will watch this.


Haikyuu!!

Haikyuu!
Release Date: April 01, 2014
Animation Production: Production I.G.
PV

Summary: The story follows Shouyou Hinata, who began playing volleyball after seeing the “small giants” who played the sport when he was in elementary school. He suffers a crushing defeat in his first and last tournament in middle school at the hands of his rival Tobio Kageyama. So, Hinata joins Kurasuno High School’s volleyball team, vowing revenge against Kageyama. However, Kageyama is also on Kurasuno’s team. The former rivals form a legendary combo with Hinata’s mobility and Kageyama’s precision ball-handling. Together, they take on the local tournaments and vow to meet Kurasuno’s fated rival school in the nationals.

Impression:
Hikaru I regret not trying to read the manga before my trip to Japan. There seems to be a lot of hype for the series (they had a nice big booth at AnimeJapan and there are lots of merchandise in Akihabara already). I’ve seen how Production IG handles sports anime and they’re good (seeing how they have done so well with Kuroko no Basket). I only started reading the manga recently and Haikyu is definitely on my list! I’ve never been a fan before but I’m already getting the hang of knowing more about volleyball!
Sid Another sports anime that I’m not going to be watching. After Kuroko no Basket I don’t really think other sport anime will get me as pump. Plus I don’t really care about volleyball.
Joshua Nope.


HappinessCharge Precure

Happiness Charge Precure!
Release Date: Feb 02, 2014
Animation Production: Toei Animation
PV

Summary: All around the world, Pretty Cures have been fighting against the invasion of the enemy known as Saiark! Shirayuki Hime, the princess of Blue Sky Kingdom is in fact a Pretty Cure, but unable to defeat the enemy alone, she is fallen behind the others and is in a quite a terrible situation. Then, on her quest to find a partner, she meets Aino Megumi (Cure Lovely) and they begin to battle the enemy together. Having learned that assembling all PreCards, you can get any one wish fulfilled, the team up with the fairy Ribbon to protect the world peace, transform, dress up and form change as they fight! With the dress-up theme beloved by girls, a completely different Pretty Cure story begins!

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Holy cow there are a lot of these. Pass.
Joshua Nope.


Hitsugi no Chaika

Hitsugi no Chaika
Release Date: April 16, 2014
Animation Production: Bones
PV

Summary: Toru Acura, an incredibly lazy man with some hidden talents, has been forced by his sister Akari to actually go outside and search for work. However, he is in for a big surprise when he meets Chaika Trabant in the forest, and they are suddenly attacked by a monster! How will they survive? Who is this mysterious girl, and why is she being targeted?

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Monsters? Girls with guns? Possible hilarious action? Alright I’ll give you a shot Hitsugi no Chaika.
Joshua Great artwork! Gotta watch it.


Isshuukan Friends.

Isshuukan Friends
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: Brains Base
PV

Summary: The story of the manga revolves around Yuki, a boy who wants to become friends with his classmate and desk neighbor Kaori. However, she gently declines his friendship, saying, “But, my… Memories of my friends disappear in a week…” Even so, Yūki wants to become her friend, and so the two become friends over and over again as the weeks pass.

Impression:
Hikaru Looks like a beautiful story of friendship, and maybe even love. That was an excellent PV that captured my heart. Definitely watching this one!
Sid This is a unique story I’ll give it that. I’m curious to see what kind of episodes they come up with each time. The trailer makes it seem really sweet. I’ll probably end up watching this one up until the end.
Joshua Ooooo this sounds like 50 dates the Japanese anime version. I will watch it.


JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Stardust Crusaders

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken: Stardust Crusaders
Release Date: April 04, 2014
Animation Production: David Production
PV

Summary: In a Japanese jail sits 17-year-old Jotaro Kujo: punk, fighter, delinquent…and possessed by a force beyond his control! Around the world, evil spirits are awakening: “Stands,” monstrous invisible creatures which give their bearers incredible powers. To save his mother’s life, Jotaro must tame his dark forces and travel around the world to Cairo, Egypt, where a hundred-year-old vampire thirsts for the blood of his family. But the road is long, and an army of evil Stand Users waits to kill JoJo and his friends…

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid I actually thought I was going to pass on this anime, but I’ve decided to give it a couple episodes first. The art style definitely isn’t my favorite, but I shouldn’t let that stop me.
Joshua eww.


Kamigami no Asobi ~Ludere deorum~

Kamigami no Asobi ~Ludere deorum~
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: Brains Base
PV

Summary: The story revolves around heroine Yui Kusanagi, who is ordered by Zeus, a god and the headmaster of a school he created, to teach the meaning of love to young and handsome gods. The reason he has for doing this is to cancel the negative effects of the weakening bond between the world of the divine and the world of the humans.

Impression:
Hikaru It’s been a while since I’ve seen a reverse harem. Will give this a try.
Sid Yeah I’m going to pass on this one for obvious reasons.
Joshua Greek mythology in anime? HOW AWESOME IS THIS. I WILL WATCH IT RELIGIOUSLY!


Kanojo ga Flag wo Oraretara

Kanojo ga Flag wo Oraretara
Release Date: 2014
Animation Production: Hoods Entertainment
PV

Summary: Hatate Sota is a high school boy, who has an ability to visualize “flags” for future events such as “death flag”, “friendship flag”, and “romance flag”. Despite the flag-viewing ability, he avoids making friends with others due to a trauma he experienced in a ship submergence accident. Four beautiful girls get interested in his strange way of living, and they begin to live with him at the school dorm by force.

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid I can’t imagine this to be anything special. A group of girls living with a guy who happens to have a dark past but really good with getting women isn’t exactly unique. It has the potential to get a few chuckles out of be but beyond that it’s probably nothing to look forward to. I might give this one or two episodes tops.
Joshua Ooo this reminds me of an anime … but anyway, I like the idea, because who knows if the emergence of Google glass wouldn’t result in something similar? I need to watch anime to prepare myself for such a future!


Kenzen Robo Daimidaler

Kenzen Robo Daimidaler
Release Date: April 2014
Animation Production: TNK
PV

Summary: The comedy centers around a high school boy named Kouichi Madanbashi who has Hi-ERo particles, the power source to operate the robotic weapon Daimidaler. With the help of Kyouko Sonan from the mysterious Prince Beauty Parlor organization, he stands up against the Penguin Empire that troubles humanity.

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Ok so it’s going to be a little ecchi and a little funny. Maybe it will have some pretty fun action too. Sure it might not be the best to watch but it might entertain me for a bit during my very rare down time. I’ll give this one a couple watches before making my decision.
Joshua Nope.


Keroro

Keroro
Release Date: 2014
Animation Production: Sunrise

Summary: Keroro will be a flash anime airing on television and will have a new title of Keroro instead of Keroro Gunsou.

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Pass.
Joshua Nope.


Kiniro no Corda Blue Sky

Kiniro no Corda: Blue Sky
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: TYO Animations

Summary: The anime follows a girl named Kanade and her relationships with the orchestra members and the other boys at her school.

Impression:
Hikaru Reverse harem + music is a big yes for me! Marking this for my list!
Sid Another pass.
Joshua …. hmmm…Nope. Still nope.


Love Live! School Idol Project 2nd Season

Love Live! School Idol Project 2nd Season
Release Date: April 16, 2014
Animation Production: Sunrise

Summary: The 2nd Season of the Love Live! School Idol Project TV anime.

Impression:
Hikaru Passing on the idol series to the ones who love them most.
Sid Never watched the first season. Pass.
Joshua OMG YES!!!!!!!!!!!! THE FIRST SEASON ENDED AT A PLACE THAT LEFT ME UNSATISFIED. I NEED MORE OF THIS!


M3 ~Sono Kuroki Tetsu~

M3 ~Sono Kuroki Tetsu~
Release Date: April 21, 2014
Animation Production: Satelight
PV

Summary: There is distorted, deep blackness everywhere. That place, in which blackness swallowed everything and took away everything, has become known as the Avidya Zone. Strange beings assume the very form of the despair and chaos of humanity. They are known by this name: Imashime. An expedition surveys the Avidya Zone which consumes human spirits. So, in the intricate intersection between the present in impending crisis and the destiny of the past … can eight boys and girls, assembled to confront the Imashime, find the bright future that lies before the Avidya Zone?.

Impression:
Hikaru I have 2 mecha on my list this season so I will give this one a try as well.
Sid I mean I guess I should give this a shot.
Joshua I donno what this is, but because its on a black poster with nice fonts, I will watch it.


Mahou Shoujo Taisen

Mahou Shoujo Taisen
Release Date: 2014
Animation Production: Gainax

Summary: Mahou Shoujo Taisen is a project that was created for a variety show for Otaku 2.5 Dimension TV. The characters are the magical girls, each representing local towns in Japan.

Impression:
Hikaru I think I’m past mahou shoujo (unless it’s madoka). Pass.
Sid I don’t really feel like giving this one a go. I’m already swamped with back logged reviews which I feel are a little more important at this time. Pass.
Joshua Oooo magical girls representing local towns. This sounds educational. I’ll watch it.


Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei
Release Date: 2014
Animation Production: Madhouse Studios

Summary: Magic is a product of neither legends nor fairy tales, but instead has become a technology of reality since a time unknown to people. Supernatural power became a technology systematized through magic, while magic became a technical skill. A “Supernatural Power User” became a “Magic Technician.” Magic Technicians (in short, Magicians) are nurtured through Magic High Schools and Universities. This is a story about: Tatsuya, a defective elder brother low achiever. Miyuki, a perfect, flawless younger sister high achiever. After both siblings entered a Magic High School, The stage of daily turbulence was unveiled—.

Impression:
Hikaru High-tech magic and battles await us in mahouka. Given that this is an LN adaptation, I’m hoping they will be loyal to the material and that they could cover at least one (if not two – Yokohama and the Nine Schools Competition) arc.
Sid I like the idea of mixing magic and technology but the basic summary seems pretty lack luster. For one I’m really hoping there isn’t some incest thing going on, but the poster speaks otherwise. I’ll give this one up to three episodes before making my decision. But so help me if the little sister does this whole “Oh brother you’re so useless, let me tutor you privately in my underwear” bit.
Joshua Yup, I have to watch this.


Majin Bone

Majin Bone
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: Toei Animation

Summary: An anime adaptation of Bandai’s digital card game “Majin Bone”.

Impression:
Hikaru Game adaptation = pass.
Sid Digital card game adaptations can’t be good. Pass.
Joshua Eww


Mangaka-san to Assistant-san to

Mangaka-san to Assistant-san to
Release Date: 2014
Animation Production: Diomedea
PV

Summary: A life description about the mangaka Aito Yuuki and his assistant Ashisu Sahoto. Aito doesn’t understand the feelings of the characters on his stories. So he asks Ashisu to help him. Ashisu would do everything for the work. She would even let him touch her breast so he will know how it feels like?!

Impression:
Hikaru No ecchi for me. Definite pass.
Sid Alright so it’s pretty obvious this is going to be at least a little ecchi from the summary. And let’s be honest, that much dedication to your job is a creepy. I think the only way for this to be the least creepy is if the guy makes it hilarious how crazy he is about his work. The typical harem is showing from all the girls in the PV, but I’ll give it a few episodes first before passing my complete judgment.
Joshua Ooooo This sounds so cheeky. I’ll watch it.


Marvel Disk Wars The Avengers

Marvel Disk Wars: The Avengers
Release Date: May 01, 2014
Animation Production: Toei Animation

Summary: The story will revolve around how the Avengers–Iron Man, Captain America, Thor and the Hulk together with the help of Spider-Man and a group of teens–will harness their respective fighting skills and superhuman powers to foil Loki’s scheme to take over the world. “Marvel Disk Wars: The Avengers” will target boys in the 6-12 age group.

Impression: 
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Despite enjoying the movie I’m actually not a big Marvel fan. I’m going to pass on this one.
Joshua Wolverine the anime sucks. So I am prejudiced against all marvel to anime remakes.


Mekaku City Actors

Mekaku City Actors
Release Date: 2014
Animation Production: SHAFT

Summary: Shintaro Kisaragi–a HikiNEET who shut himself inside his room for 2 years and has been living his life normally until he met a cyber girl named Ene, who appeared in his computer screen when someone anonymously sent him a mysterious e-mail one year ago. One day, Ene had been messing up with Shintaro’s PC. which causes him have to go to outside world for first time in 2 years.

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Alright I’m a sucker for NEET anime so I’ll give this one a chance. It seems like it could be pretty entertaining. There a ton of different characters all with a unique background. I’m going to give this one three episodes but expecting to watch it all the way through.
Joshua Yup this is my thing. I will watch it.


Mushishi Zoku Shou

Mushishi Zoku Shou
Release Date: May 01, 2014
Animation Production: Artland

Summary: The second season of Mushishi.

Impression:
Hikaru Another pass.
Sid Didn’t watch the first. Pass.
Joshua MUSHISHI IS AWESOME. I will watch this.


No Game No Life

No Game No Life
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: Madhouse Studios
PV

Summary: The story of No Game, No Life centers around Sora and Shiro, a brother and sister whose reputations as brilliant NEET (Not in Education, Employment, or Training) hikikomori (shut-in) gamers have spawned urban legends all over the Internet. These two gamers even consider the real world as just another “crappy game.” One day, they are summoned by a boy named “God” to an alternate world. There, God has prohibited war and declared this to be a world where “everything is decided by games” – even national borders. Humanity has been driven back into one remaining city by the other races. Will Sora and Shiro, the good-for-nothing brother and sister, become the “Saviors of Humanity” on this alternate world? “Well, let’s start playing.”

Impression:
Hikaru Hikikomori turned saviors can be interesting. Will probably check this out.
Sid I’ve probably mentioned before that I’m not the biggest fan of game based anime, but this one seems like it has an interesting twist. The PV had some great artwork, music, and comedic moments. I’m going to be watching this one to the end.
Joshua Yup I have to watch this. Till not too long ago, I was a transitional NEET.


Ping Pong The Animation

Ping Pong the Animation
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: Tatsunoko Productions
PV

Summary: Tsukimoto Makoto (nicknamed Smile) is a quiet high-schooler who’s been friend with the loud and energetic Hoshino Yukata (nicknamed Peko). They’re both in the table tennis club and are very good at it, though Smile’s personality prevents him from winning against Peko. The club teacher however notices Smile’s talent and tries to make him gain some sportive tenacity.

Impression:
Chidori3souske
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Pass, seems more like a documentary more than anything.
Joshua Nope.


Pretty Rhythm All Star Selection

Pretty Rhythm: All Star Selection
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production:

Summary:

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Pass again.
Joshua Nope.


Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin

Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: A-1 Pictures
PV

Summary: The story centers around the treasure of Nanana, a ghost who was once a beautiful but NEET (Not in Education, Employment or Training) girl. A boy named Juugo was disowned by his father and forced to transfer to a high school on the “Special Student Zone,” an artificial island. With only 40,000 yen (about US$500) a month to live on, Juugo chooses a low-rent apartment that happens to be haunted by Nanana. Juugo and members of the school’s adventure club join a “treasure hunt royal” on the island for the Nanana Collection, a treasure that possesses a mysterious power.

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Yet another NEET anime? I can’t give up now, I’m going to give this one a shot as well. Seems like I can get a few good laughs from it.
Joshua I WILL WATCH THIS.


Sadon Desu

Sadon Desu
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: Gainax

Summary: The story revolves around Koume who enters a private high school. She hears from her friend Sasuga that if she enters the tea ceremony club, she can eat snacks. They bring along their classmates Mikaeru and Momiji to join the club with her. The president of the club is 11th grader Ayame.

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Yeah I’m going to pass on this one. Nothing interesting here.
Joshua Ooo I like tea ceremonies. I will watch this.


Seikoku no Dragonar

Seikoku no Dragonar
Release Date: 2014
Animation Production:
PV

Summary: Learning to ride and tame dragons comes easy to most students at Ansarivan Dragonar Academy—except for first-year student Ash Blake, who is known by his fellow classmates as the “number one problem child.” Poor Ash is the laughing stock at school because, despite his unfashionably large star-shaped brand that marks him as a future dragon master, he has nothing to show for it. His dragon has never appeared..

Impression:
Hikaru Pass.
Sid I like dragons and all, I really do but this one seems a bit much for me. It’s probably going to have some cool visuals based off the PV, but it’s also going to be heavily ecchi. Passing on this one since they can’t seem to bring in an audience without flashing some breasts and panties in the PV.
Joshua Pass.


Selector Infected WIXOSS

Selector Infected WIXOSS
Release Date: April 01, 2014
Animation Production: J.C. Staff
PV

Summary: Girls with each of these feelings in their hearts are being swallowed into the vortex of a dangerous game…

Impression:
Hikaru An interesting dark card game. Might be worth a shot.
Sid Pretty mysterious and has some creepily awesome music in the trailer. I’m actually really looking forward to this horror anime and plan to watch it till the end, or at least picking up the OST.
Joshua Ooo horror anime. YES I AM WATCHING IT.


Sidonia no Kishi

Sidonia no Kishi
Release Date: April 2014
Animation Production: POLYGON PICTURES
PV

Summary: It’s been a thousand years since the Gauna, a strange alien race with no known method of communication, destroyed the solar system. A portion of humanity managed to escape using enormous “seed ships” like the Sidonia, which have allowed them to maintain the population while drifting through space. Nagate Tanikaze is a young man who has been raised deep in the bowels of the ship. When he goes into training to pilot the huge robotic weapons known as Gardes, Nagate is entrusted with piloting the legendary unit known as Tsugumori. Nagate and his fellow pilots put their lives on the line against the Gauna, in the ultimate battle for the survival of humanity!

Impression:
Hikaru Post apocalyptic series in space? I’m in.
Sid If you didn’t think that trailer was awesome there’s something wrong. I’m looking forward to seeing where this one takes us. It seems like it can crave both my mecha and story thirst. Probably going to end up watching this one till the end.
Joshua Ok this sounds interesting.


Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii
Release Date: April 06, 2014
Animation Production: Studio Pierrot
PV

Summary: Nike, the fourth princess of the Rain Dukedom and one who holds the power to call forth the rain, travels to the Sun Kingdom to marry Sun King Livius for her country, despite her own reluctance. She soon discovers that the King, who conquered the world in only three years after his ascendance to the throne, is still a child!! Furthermore, for trivial reasons, he has demanded that Nike call forth the rain…!?

Impression:
Hikaru A world of magic, a girl, and a young prince. I was greatly reminded of Matsuri Hino’s Meru Puri. Will give this one a shot.
Sid Is this going to be some pedo thing? I really hope it’s not some pedo thing. I’ll give this one a good three episodes before making my decisiondeicision.
Joshua Will wait for reviews before I decide.


Soul Eater Not!

Soul Eater Not!
Release Date: April 04, 2014
Animation Production: Bones
PV

Summary: Ding-dong! Dead-dong! Class is about to begin, and you don’t want to be late on your first day of school! Join Tsugumi Harudori in the “NOT” class at Death Weapon Meister Academy, a school dedicated to training transforming weapons like Tsugumi and the meisters who will wield them. Many “NOT” (Normally Overcome Target) students aspire to join the elite “EAT” (Especially Advantaged Talent) class. But it may take Tsugumi some time to find her confidence– and a partner — at this crazy school!

Impression:
Hikaru I haven’t read Soul Eater in a while and haven’t even started with this spinoff. Pass.
Sid I’ll admit I didn’t actually finish Soul Eater (I’m 30+ episodes in ok?) but maybe this one will give me a reason to finish it. I’m sure it wont be a problem if I don’t, but might as well get back into the world. It might add a little more to the world in a … cute kind of way?
Joshua Pass


Yu-Gi-Oh! Arc-V

Yu-Gi-Oh! Arc-V
Release Date:
Animation Production: X

Summary: The fifth Yu-Gi-Oh! project with new main characters and new monsters.

Impression: 
Hikaru Pass.
Sid Pass.
Joshua Yucks.


Shorts

Inugami-san to Nekoyama-san

Inugami-san to Nekoyama-san
Release Date: April 30, 2014
Animation Production: Seven

Summary: About best friends Inugami Yachiyo and Nekoyama Suzu. Inugami likes cats and has a dog-like personality. Nekoyama likes dogs and has a cat-like personality.

Impression:
Hikaru Needless to say but it’s a definite pass.
Sid It’s a short so I might as well give it a shot, but I’m not really looking forward to it.
Joshua YAY Cat-like personalities are awesome. I WILL WATCH THIS.

3 thoughts on “Spring 2014 Anime Preview”

  1. Mmmm don’t think I’ll be watching anything new this season. Will probably wait until the end to see what the stand outs were.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *