June 24, 2014
1 Comment

Thank you Neregate, MAL, and Ani-Chart for providing us with information about the Summer 2014 Anime!

Summer 2014 Anime Chart v2

TV Series

Akame ga Kill!

Akame ga Kill!
Genre:
Action, Adventure, Fantasy
Release Date: July 07, 2014
Animation Production: White Fox
PV, PV2

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Tomoki Kobayashi (Tears to Tiarasola)
Script: Makoto Uezu (Danganronpa The AnimationQwaser of Stigmata)
Music: Taku Iwasaki (Black ButlerJoJo’s Bizarre AdventureGatchaman Crowds)

Amamiya, Sora (Fujimiya, Kaori of Isshuukan Friends.) as Akame
Saito, Soma (Yamaguchi, Tadashi  of Haikyuu!!) as Tatsumi
Tamura, Yukari (Takamachi, Nanoha of Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha) as Mein
Noto, Mamiko (Tsukamoto, Yakumo of School Rumble) as Schere

Summary: Tatsumi is a fighter who just got robbed by a pretty girl, but his luck seems to be looking up, as another pretty girl has taken him in. What he doesn’t know is that this girl is about to be visited by a family of assassins (including the girl who robbed him) and they might be the good guys, and be recruiting…

Impression:

Sid I’m looking forward to this one just for the visuals. The trailers and screenshots I’ve seen look amazing. I’m a little wary of assassin based anime because most of them don’t seem to be that great. Hopefully this one comes as a surprise.
Hikaru Black hair, red eyes, and a sword in hand. Saya stereotype? Will probably give this a try.
Chidori3souske I’ve been following the manga for some time now and even though I’m not really into shounen series, I was captivated by this one. It of course has a good amount of at the edge of your seat action, memorable characters but most of all a sort of cruel and dark world that is quite reminiscent of the world we currently live in. That setting was what pulled me to read on and there are some moments that are shocking and heart breaking at the same time (Hopefully what I’ve written here isn’t a spoiler :P). Hopefully Whitefox would give the manga justice but I’m a bit wary with director-san and script writer-san mainly because of their track records. Besides that I’m still looking forward to this series.


Aldnoah.Zero

Aldnoah.Zero
Genre:
Action, Mecha, Sci-Fi
Release Date: July 06, 2014
Animation Production: A-1 Pictures
PV, PV2, PV3

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Ei Aoki (Fate/ZeroGa-Rei: ZeroThe Garden of Sinners)
Series Composition: Katsuhiko Takayama (Ga-Rei: ZeroMirai Nikki (TV))
Music: Hiroyuki Sawano (Kill la KillShingeki no Kyojin)
Original creator: Gen Urobuchi (Fate/ZeroMahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica)
T
heme Song Composition: Kajiura, Yuki (Fate/ZeroMahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica)

Ono, Kensho (Kuroko, Tetsuya of Kuroko no Basket) as Troyard, Slaine
Hanae, Natsuki (Haimura, Kiri of Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge) as Kaidzuka, Inaho
Amamiya, Sora (Fujimiya, Kaori of Isshuukan Friends.) as Vers Allusia, Asseylum

Summary: In 1972, a hypergate was discovered on the surface of the moon, and humanity began migrating to Mars and settling there. However, eventually the seeds of war were sown.

Impression:

Sid It seems like this one might be a little more about the politics and emotions with a good bit of action judging by the trailer. More importantly it has Hiroyuki Sawano who did the music for Guilty Crown, Kill la Kill, and  Ao no Exorcist. Worst comes to worst at least I can expect a good OST.
Hikaru One of the two mecha titles this season that I’ve been looking forward to. And I am definitely glad that Kensho Ono (Kuroko Tetsuya, Kuroko’s Basketball) and Hanae Natsuki (Sakishima Hikari, Nagi no Asakura) are both getting more lead roles now. That’s a yes on my list.
Chidori3souske Holy sheeez! Look at that staff list!! Urobotcher is back and with all those talented staff in tow…I just can’t wait for the premier of this series!  I wonder if Butch-Gen would pile up lots of bodies in this series of will he be kind just like what he did with Suisei no Gargantia? Oh I just can’t wait to find out!

A dystopian setting, mecha and political intergalactic wars…gosh I miss watching anime with all those kinds of elements. I just hope that this would be one of those memorable Butch-Gen series that would crush my heart and put despair on my world again (lol I’m such a masochitst :P). I hope Butch-Gen won’t fail me this time.


Ao Haru Ride

Ao Haru Ride
Genre:
Comedy, Drama, Romance
Release Date: July 08, 2014
Animation Production: Production I.G.
PV

Summary: Yoshioka Futaba has a few reasons why she wants to “reset” her image & life as a new high school student. Because she’s cute, she was ostracized by her female friends in junior high, and because of a misunderstanding, she couldn’t get her feeling across to the one boy she has ever liked, Tanaka-kun. Now in high school, she is determined to be as unladylike as possible so that her friends won’t be jealous of her. While living her life this way contentedly, she meets Tanaka-kun again, but he now goes under the name of Mabuchi Kou. He tells her that he felt the same way as she did when they were younger, but now things can never be the same again. Will Futaba be able to continue her love that never even started from three years ago?

Impression:

Sid Honestly I’m not really looking forward to a romance this season though I have heard some good things about Ao Haru Ride. I might give it a couple episodes, but I feel like it might burn me out judging from the trailer.
Hikaru As one of the series I saw in AnimeJapan, I am definitely looking forward to Ao Haru Ride! The biggest challenge though is how the anime would progress given a still ongoing manga counterpart.


Bakumatsu Rock

Bakumatsu Rock
Genre:
Music
Release Date: July 02, 2014
Animation Production: Sudio Deen
PV

Summary: The story is set in the Bakumatsu era, at the end of the shoguns’ rule over Japan in the middle of the 19th century. The Tokugawa shogunate uses the brainwashing Heaven’s Songs by the top idols in Shinsengumi to subjugate the country and its people. In this Japan, writing or singing any songs besides the Heaven’s Songs is a capital offense. Sakamoto Ryouma and the other rockers rise up and change the world with rock ‘n’ roll for freedom and justice.

Impression:

Sid I’m kind of curious why they decided to place this in the Bakumatsu era, I guess they wanted to be different and set it in the past instead of the future or alternate reality? I’ll probably end up watching a couple episodes but I’m not looking forward to it that’s for sure. I don’t think it will be that great in terms of story or characters. Maybe a good OST since it revolves around music?
Hikaru Yet another title I saw in AnimeJapan. If there’s one thing I’m looking forward to, it’s got to be the music! Will give this a try.


Barakamon

Barakamon
Genre:
Comedy, Slice of Life
Release Date: July 06, 2014
Animation Production: Kinema Citrus

Summary: As a punishment for punching a famous Calligrapher, young handsome Calligrapher Handa Seishu is exiled on a small island. As someone who has never lived outside of a city, Handa has to adapt to his new wacky neighbors, like people traveling on a tractor, unwanted visitors who never use the front door, annoying kids using his home as a playground, etc. Can this city guy handle all the crazy hardships? Find out in this wacky island comedy full of innocence and laughter!!!

Impression:

Sid I am so happy this is being turned into an anime! I’ve loved the manga (as far as I’ve read) and know I’m going to enjoy this as well. It’s such a simple slice of life story with some good laughs.
Hikaru I’m not really into slice of life but that’s an interesting plot. The bishie lead also caught my eye. Barakamon, check!


Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon Crystal

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon: Crystal
Genre:
Magic, Romance
Release Date: July 05, 2015
Animation Production: Toei Animation
PV

Summary: Tsukino Usagi is a clumsy crybaby, but otherwise very cheerful 8th grade student. One day she meets a cat named Luna with a crescent moon on her head, and is transformed into the sailor-suited guardian of love and justice, Sailor Moon! As a chosen guardian of justice, Usagi has a mission … to find her comrades; to find the Phantom Silver Crystal; and protect the Princess. However, Queen Beryl of the Dark Kingdom also seeks the terrible power of the Silver Crystal, and sends her agents into the city where Usagi lives; triggering the start of a fierce battle.
Will Sailor Moon be able to find the other Sailor Guardians, and if she does, together can they find the Phantom Silver Crystal and protect the Princess?!

Impression:

Sid Alright I might not be that into Sailor Moon but I have to at least give this a watch as an anime watcher. It’s a classic remastered. How could I not? And no I don’t expect to actually continue watching or reviewing it, I’m sure you’ll see plenty of that elsewhere. But I’m sure all of you are also a little curious as to how it turns out.
Hikaru Moon Crystal Power Make Up! I had good memories of Sailor Moon and always dreamt of being saved by Tuxedo Mask. And yet, I am unsure whether I want to see this again or keep it as a good memory.


DRAMAtical Murder

DRAMAtical Murder
Genre:
Action, Psychological, Sci-Fi
Release Date: July 07, 2014
Animation Production: NAZ
PV

Summary: The story takes place many years in the future where the game “Rhyme,” a virtual fighting game, is incredibly popular and people possess “AllMates,” convenient AI computers. Aoba leads an ordinary life, working at a junk shop and living with his grandmother on the island of Midorijima. Unlike his friends, he doesn’t participate in Rhyme, nor does he belong in a gang. However, when rumors of people disappearing spread, Aoba finds himself needing to unravel the mysteries behind the island in order to protect his everyday life.

Impression:

Sid The first thing that caught my eye during the PV were the clothes. I really liked the design of the characters and unique style the team has taken. I’m really looking forward to see how they splice reality and fiction together when Aoba enters the game world. I’m also a big fan of mysteries. This is definitely toward the top of my watch list this season.
Hikaru My bishie sensors are tingling! I’m giving this a try.


Fate kaleid liner Prisma Illya 2wei!

Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya 2wei
Genre:
Action, Comedy, Fantasy
Release Date: July 10, 2014
Animation Production: Silver Link
PV

Summary: About a month after the events of the first manga, a new mission to normalize the Earth’s pulsations come up. However, when Ilya tries to subdue the pulsations…

Impression:

Sid I’m going to have to pass on this one. I don’t think I have the time to even try and pick it up.
Hikaru I wonder what’s in store for our magical girls this season? More Fate battles, yes?


Free! Eternal Summer

Free! Eternal Summer
Genre:
Comedy, Sports, Slice of Life
Release Date: July 03, 2014
Animation Production: Kyoto Animation
PV

Summary: The second season of Free!

Impression:

Sid Never watched the first season, sorry ladies!
Hikaru Don’t worry Sid. I got you covered here. I’m up for more swimming, muscles, and bishies! Let the Eternal Summer begin!


Futsuu no Joshikousei ga [Locodol] Yatte Mita.

Futsuu no Joshikousei ga [Locodol] Yatte Mita.
Genre:
Comedy
Release Date: July 04, 2014
Animation Production: Feel
PV

Summary: The story is about the life of a high school girl, Nanako, and her senpai, Yukari, who end up becoming the town’s local idols (locodol) upon the request of her uncle. However they would soon learn that their new idol lifestyle is less than stellar as they are only be interviewed by the town’s shopping center, appear on low-budget cable television, and perform concerts on top of the roof of department stores. The girls’ salaries come from the town’s taxes.

Impression:

Sid Typical high school girl anime with plenty of moe. Pass.
Hikaru Not really a fan of idol-related titles. Pass.


Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun
Genre:
Comedy, Romance
Release Date: July 07, 2014
Animation Production: Dagakobo
PV

Summary: The romantic comedy story begins when high school student Sakura Chiyo confesses her feelings to her classmate Nozaki. Due to a misunderstanding, Nozaki thinks Sakura is just a fan of his shoujo manga work. Sakura has to convey her true feelings while her relationship with Nozaki develops.

Impression:

Sid I’m fan of these types of romances, the ones that have the girl immediately le the guy know her feelings and knows what she wants. It’s more about building their relationship and I feel less dramatic. I’m going to be picking this up for my romance kick this season.
Hikaru Second highschool romance title for this season for me.


Glasslip

Glasslip
Genre:
Slice of Life
Release Date: July 03, 2014
Animation Production: P.A. Works
PV, PV2, PV3

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Junji Nishimura (True TearsDog Days’)
Series Composition: Junji Nishimura & Rika Satou (Tari Tari)
Music: Akito Matsuda (D-FragmentsDog & Scissors)
Theme Song Performance: ChouCho & nano.RIPE 

Daiki Yamashita as Hiro Shirosaki
Nobunaga Shimazaki as Yukinari Imi
Risa Taneda as Sachi Nagamiya
Ryota Ohsaka as Kakeru Okikura
Saori Hayami as Yanagi Takayama
Seria Fukagawa as Tōko Fukami

Summary: The story follows six high school students who meet during the summer. The protagonist is Touko Fukami, a 17-year-old born in Fukui Prefecture. Her dream is to become a glass artisan.

Impression:

Sid I actually like slice of life anime; they’re a good way to unwind after some of the other anime. I’ll watch a good three or four episodes before making my decision. Plus I want to add more nano.RIPE songs to my collection.
Hikaru Glass artisanship sounds interesting. Will give this a few episodes.
Chidori3souske As usual P.A. Work’s animation is as superb as ever but what drew me is probably the theme song performance of ChouCho & nano.RIPE but other than that this show is eclipsed with a LOT of shows this season mainly because it is under the slice of life genre. Not sure if I’m going to pick this up but if I have the time I’ll check out a few episodes. 


Hanamonogatari

Hanamonogatari
Genre:
Action, Comedy, Drama, Fantasy, Supernatural
Release Date: August 16, 2014
Animation Production: SHAFT
PV

Summary: The next part of the Monogatari Series, Hanamonogatari features Suruga Kanbaru and is set after Koyomi Araragi graduates from high school.

Impression:

Sid Yes. Si. Oui. Ja. Jen. Hai. Gee. Shi. Hanji. Igen. Da. Evet. Nai. Aye. Ya. Jah. HELL YES!!!
Hikaru That’s a definite yest for me too!


Hanayamata

Hanayamata
Genre:
Slice of Life
Release Date: July 08, 2014
Animation Production: Madhouse Studios
PV

Summary: Normal appearance, normal intelligence, normal in arts and sports… just normal. This is the entirely normal 14-year-old, Naru Sekiya. While she admires “Heroines” she continues to live a normal life until one moonlit night she meets a fairy. This foreign girl then guides her into the extraordinary world of the yosakoi dance.

Impression:

Sid Might give this one a couple episodes simply for the art. Not expecting to keep it up though.
Hikaru I’m fairly interested in this Yosakoi Dance. Will try watching this one.


Jinsei

Jinsei
Genre:
Slice of Life
Release Date: July 06, 2014
Animation Production: Feel
PV

Summary: The story centers around Yūki Akamatsu, a boy who joins the staff of his school’s second newspaper. The editor-in-chief Ayaka Nikaidō immediately assigns him to the life (jinsei) advice column. Three girls — the science representative Rino Endō, the liberal arts representative Fumi Kujō, and the physical education representative Ikumi Suzuki — answer requests from students about whatever is troubling them.

Impression:

Sid I know it’s another slice of life and I said I like them, but this one looks kind of boring. I’ll give it a couple episodes before making my final decision.
Hikaru Moe girls + slice of life = pass.


Kuroshitsuji Book of Circus

Kuroshitsuji: Book of Circus
Genre: Comedy, Fantasy, Supernatural
Release Date: July 11, 2014
Animation Production: A-1 Pictures

Summary: The TV series is subtitled Book of Circus and will air July 2014 in the Animeism block. It will adapt the Noah’s Ark Circus Arc, picking the manga story back up from the point at which they diverged. This arc immediately follows the Curry Contest Arc in the manga, which ended at episode 15 in the first season of the anime

Impression:

Sid Didn’t watch the first season so probably should pass this one.
Hikaru I missed our Butler from Hell. Picking this up.


Love Stage!

Love Stage!!
Genre:
Comedy, Yaoi
Release Date: July 10, 2014
Animation Production: J.C. Staff
PV

Summary: The story revolves around Izumi Sena, a boy born into a family of ultra-famous entertainers. However, he is the only member of the family who is not in the entertainment industry, and he is a super otaku college student, too. He has been striving hard to become a manga creator, but he ends up starring in a television commercial. He eventually cross paths again with the very famous actor Ryuuma, who becomes aware of his attraction towards Izumi.

Impression:

Sid Pass.
Hikaru Pass as well.


Majimoji Rurumo

Majimoji Rurumo
Genre:
Comedy, Fantasy
Release Date: July 09, 2014
Animation Production: J.C. Staff
PV

Summary: Shibaki is a high-school boy whose only interest is girls. Except he’s been branded as the most hentai boy at school and the girls avoid him like the plague. One day he finds a book in the library about how to summon witches. He tries it as a joke, but it turns out to be the real thing. An apprentice witch named Rurumo appears to grant him a wish. Shibaki helps Rurumo and she in return refuses to take his soul. (This part of this story happened before the start of chapter 1) When the story starts, Shibaki wishes he could see Rurumo again. His wishes is granted immediately as Rurumo falls from the sky and crash lands in front of him. He finds out that as punishment for not taking his soul she’s been busted down to an apprentice demon. Now, she must complete the task of getting Shibaki to use up 666 magic tickets that grant wishes before she can become a witch again. However, what she doesn’t know is that each time he uses a ticket it shortens his life. When the last ticket is used up, Shibaki will die. Shibaki knows this because Rurumo’s familiar black cat Chiro tell him as part of the “contract” for giving him the tickets. Now, Shibaki has a choice, make a wish and help Rurumo become a witch again or resist the temptation and try to save his own life.

Impression:

Sid I’m worried that the main character Shibaki will be really annoying because his “only interest is girls”. However, it might be a pretty neat story to watch once the tickets came into play. I’m curious how the creators will develop the characters. Being a comedy, however, I’m sure the ending will simply be a loop hole from Shibaki dying and Rurumo becoming a full fledge witch again. Hopefully I can grab a few laughs from the first three episodes to keep going.
Hikaru I’m a JC Staff fan but I don’t buy this story yet. A pass for now.


Minarai Diva

Minarai Diva
Genre:
Music
Release Date: July 14, 2014
Animation Production:

Summary: The story follows two aspiring divas who hope to become famous through a unique brand of music.

Impression:

Sid Pass.
Hikaru I love music-related anime but this CG generated content… Pass.


Momo Kyun Sword

Momo Kyun Sword
Genre:
Fantasy
Release Date: July 09, 2014
Animation Production: Project No. 9
PV

Summary: The story begins with a female re-imagining of Momotarou, a famous character in Japanese folklore. Momoko is a beautiful young sword fighter who was born inside a peach (momo in Japanese). She lives with her constant companions — the dog god Inugami, the monkey god Sarugami, and the pheasant god Kijigami — in a peaceful paradise. However, a demon army led by devil king invades the paradise and steals the precious treasure that protects Momoko’s land. To retrieve the treasure and save the people, Momoko embarks on a great adventure with her three companions.

Impression:

Sid Immediately from the art I could tell this is going to be an ecchi show. The story and PV didn’t seem to give me much either. I’ll give this one or two episodes, but I’m almost guaranteeing I’ll drop it.
Hikaru No ecchi for me.


Nobunaga Concerto

Nobunaga Concerto
Genre:
Historical, Romance
Release Date: July 12, 2014
Animation Production: Fuji TV

Summary: The story centers around Saburou, a high school boy who time-travels to Japan’s Sengoku Era. He must become Nobunaga Oda, the famed warlord who helps unite Japan.

Impression:

Sid I liked a couple of the other historical romances I’ve seen so I’ll check this one out as well.
Hikaru Nana Mizuki and Mamoru Miyano in that cast made me want to at least give this one a try.


Persona 4 The Golden Animation

Persona 4 The Golden Animation
Genre:
Adventure, Mystery, Supernatural
Release Date: July 11, 2014
Animation Production: A-1 Pictures
PV

Summary: Adaptation of Persona 4’s remake video game, Persona 4 The Golden. The story retells the events of the original while featuring a new character, Marie.

Impression:

Sid I did like the Persona 4 Animation but I don’t think I’m going to be picking this one up unless someone tells me the difference is well worth it.
Hikaru I was never a Persona franchise fan. Pass.


Psycho-Pass New Edit Version

Psycho-Pass New Edit Version
Genre:
Action, Sci-Fi
Release Date: July 10, 2014
Animation Production: Production I.G.

Summary: The “new edit version” will take the first series and re-cut it into 11 one-hour episodes with new cuts of footage.

Impression:

Sid Alright I know that I just said I’m not really into watching remakes or re-airing of anime, but I really enjoyed Psycho-Pass and I think seeing some additional footage before the second season is well worth it. Picking this one up but probably not reviewing it.
Hikaru Not sure if I have enough time for a remake. Pass.


RAIL WARS!

RAIL WARS!
Genre:
Action, Romance
Release Date: July 04, 2014
Animation Production: Passione
PV

Summary: The “dream railway paradise entertainment” story is set in a parallel world where Japan did not privatize its national railways. Naohito Takayama is an ordinary high school boy who dreams of a comfortable future working for the top-rated Japanese National Railways. He is assigned as a trainee in the Railways Security Force full of odd characters such as Sakurai, a troublemaker who hates men. On top of that, an extremist group called “RJ” plots to privatize the Japanese National Railways.

Impression:

Sid Wait this is supposed to be a romance? Is it actually a romance or is it more of a harem romance/ It’s hard to tell from the trailer, but I’ll give it a shot. The story is different and the animation looks kind of cool. I’m expecting to watch this one till the end.
Hikaru Somehow, Rail Wars reminded me of ServantxService. Will be watching this.


Re Hamatora

Re: Hamatora
Genre:
Comedy, Mystery, Sci-Fi
Release Date: July 08, 2014
Animation Production: DAX Production

Summary: Season two of Hamatora.

Impression:

Sid Sadly I never watched the first season, or rather never finished it. I might try to, but I strongly doubt it will all the work load I have left.
Hikaru I simply must know that Nice is alive somewhere. Will try to watch this.


Rokujouma no Shinryakusha

Rokujouma no Shinryakusha!?
Genre:
Comedy, Romance, Supernatural
Release Date: July 12, 2014
Animation Production: Silver Link
PV

Summary: Now that he enters his high school career, Satomi Koutaro begins his life living alone in an apartment that only costs him 5000 yen per month, an extremely cheap deal even for this small apartment. There’s a catch: the apartment is apparently haunted by a cute ghost that has driven its prior occupants away. Next thing he knows, not only is there a ghost trying to drive him out of his new home, but magical girls and other unique female characters turn this small apartment into a battleground of sorts.

Impression:

Sid A couple questions: 1) Where can I get a place for 5000 yen and 2) is this really a romance, or is it just a harem? It looks like it can give me a couple laughs, but I’m expecting ecchi to ruin it all for me. I’ll give it a couple episodes though just in case it ends up being a hidden gem.
Hikaru Nothing extraordinary about that plot. Pass.


Sabagebu!

Sabagebu!
Genre:
Comedy
Release Date: July 06, 2014
Animation Production: Studio Pierrot

Summary: Middle school girl Momoka is dragged into joining one of the strangest associations at her school, the Survival Game Club. Its members participate in various forms of paramilitary training under the watchful eye of charming and alarming president, Miou. How on Earth will the inexperienced Momoka survive her training, let alone Miou’s company?!

Impression:

Sid A survival game club eh? Where have I heard that one before? I’m probably going to give this one a pass just because I don’t have time to watch it unless I end up dropping a lot of anime this season.
Hikaru Pass.


Seirei Tsukai no Blade Dance

Seirei Tsukai no Blade Dance
Genre:
Comedy, Fantasy, Supernatural
Release Date: July 14, 2014
Animation Production: TNK
PV

Summary: Only a pure maiden can have the privilege to contract with a spirit. In here, Areishia Spirit Academy, trained maidens of noble families are gathered and given an elite’s education to become spirit contractors. A boy, Kamito, peeped by accident at a girl, Clair, while she was taking a bath and he ended up making a contract with the spirit she wanted. Yes, Kamito is an irregular boy spirit contractor whose existence was thought impossible until now. “You stole…my spirit…you have to take responsibility for it!” “Huh?” “You have to become my contracted spirit!” What will Kamito’s destiny lead to?

Impression:

Sid I feel like there is an epidemic in Japan of poorly written signs because it is the leading cause of ‘accidental bathroom peeping’. That or people don’t believe in knocking. I’ll give it a couple episodes before dropp- I mean making my decision.
Hikaru Looks like a harem to me. Pass.


Sengoku Basara Judge End

Sengoku Basara Judge End
Genre:
Action
Release Date: July 06, 2014
Animation Production: Telecom

Summary: Based on CAPCOM’s 2010 game Sengoku Basara 3 (Sengoku Basara: Samurai Heroes), and it will depict the epic Battle of Sekigahara

Impression:

Sid Pass.
Hikaru Pass.


Shirogane no Ishi Argevollen

Shirogane no Ishi Argevollen
Genre:
Action
Release Date: July 03, 2014
Animation Production: Xebec
PV

Summary: A new original anime announced to air Summer 2014.

Impression:

Sid I know nothing about it, and I don’t understand Japanese for the trailer, but I’ll give it a shot. Why not? Maybe it will be a pretty good mech anime. Plus it’s the same sound director for Nodame Cantabile so that’s something right?
Hikaru Which will be the better mecha title this season? I can’t wait to find out.


Shounen Hollywood

Shounen Hollywood –Holly Stage for 49-
Genre:
Slice of Life
Release Date: July 06, 2014
Animation Production: Zexcs
PV

Summary: The anime will tell an original story set 15 years after the novel’s story. It takes place at a fictional theater called Hollywood Tokyo in Harajuku, where members of the idol group “Shonen Hollywood” develop their talents with diligent work and studying.

Impression:

Sid I’m going to say pass on this one.
Hikaru Pass.


Space Dandy 2

Space☆Dandy 2
Genre:
Comedy, Sci-Fi
Release Date: July 06, 2014
Animation Production: Bones

Summary: Second season of Space Dandy

Impression:

Sid Never watched the first season, pass.
Hikaru Me neither. Pass.


Sword Art Online II

Sword Art Online 2
Genre:
Action, Adventure, Fantasy
Release Date: July 05, 2014
Animation Production: A-1 Pictures
PV

Summary: Sequel to Sword Art Online, featuring the next arc “Phantom Bullet”.

Impression:

Sid I know that a lot of people hated the second half of season one but I actually thought it wasn’t bad. However, I’m not looking forward to this one at all. I don’t think Sword Art Online needed to continue (although the manga did). Still I can’t just throw it away because it might end up being pretty good.
Hikaru I’ve read Phantom Bullet and partly excited to see Kiriko in action once more.


Tokyo ESP

Tokyo ESP
Genre:
Action, Fantasy, Supernatural
Release Date: July 12, 2014
Animation Production: Xebec

Summary: The science fantasy story Tokyo ESP begins with Rinka, an extremely poor high school girl who lives with just her father in modern Tokyo. One day, she is going home from school when she chases a “flying penguin” to the top of New Tokyo Tower — only to have “fish swimming in the air” suddenly appear before her. One of the fish goes through Rinka and gives her extraordinary powers beyond those of normal humans, particularly the ability to slip through solid objects.

Impression:

Sid Another one of my top list of anime to watch this season. Why? Because it seems to be something different. I’m not sure what it will be like or how good the story is, but it seems fun. I’ll be watching this one till the end unless it turns out to be unbearably bad in the first few episodes.
Hikaru A pass for now.


Tokyo Ghoul

Tokyo Ghoul
Genre:
Mystery, Horror, Psychological
Release Date: July 04, 2014
Animation Production: Studio Pierrot
PV

Summary: The suspense horror/dark fantasy story is set in Tokyo, which is haunted by mysterious “ghouls” who are devouring humans. People are gripped by the fear of these ghouls whose identities are masked in mystery. An ordinary college student named Kaneki encounters Rize, a girl who is an avid reader like him, at the café he frequents. Little does he realize that his fate will change overnight.

Impression:

Sid Mystery? Horror? Psychological? How could I pass this up? After Hanamonogatari this is my most looked forward to anime this season.
Hikaru Not really into gore or horror for that matter. Pass.


Zankyou no Terror

Zankyou no Terror
Genre:
Psychological, Thriller
Release Date: July 11, 2014
Animation Production: MAPPA
PV

Summary: On a summer day … A massive terrorist bombing suddenly struck Tokyo. The culprits behind the act that woke up this complacent nation from its slumber, were just two boys. Now, the culprits known as “Sphinx” begin a grandiose game that encompasses all of Japan.

Impression:

Sid Oh this one looks fun. I can’t wait to see how this one turns out. Another anime I plan on watching till the end this season. 
Hikaru That was an intriguing plot! I can’t believe that trailer got me excited. Will watch this!

 

Shorts

 

Ai Mai Mi ~Mousou Catastrophe~

Ai Mai Mi ~Mouso Catastrophe~
Genre:
Comedy, Slice of Life
Release Date: July 08, 2014
Animation Production: Seven

Summary: Second season of Ai Mai Mi

Impression:

Sid Pass.
Hikaru Never saw the previous season. Pass.


Francesca

Francesca
Genre:
Comedy
Release Date: July 07, 2014
Animation Production: Comedy, Fantasy
PV

Summary: TV anime adaptation based on the undead idol character Francesca to promote Hokkaido, Japan.

Impression:

Sid Pass.
Hikaru Pass.


Himegoto

Himegoto
Genre:
Comedy, Slice of Life
Release Date: July 07, 2014
Animation Production: Asahi Production

Summary: The story follows Hime Arikawa, a boy who is being chased down by scary people. However, he is rescued from danger by the girls in his school’s student council — 18-Kin-san, President Unko, and Beru-sempai. The student council will assume Arikawa’s debt under one condition: “As the student council’s dog, you will spend your high school life in women’s clothes.”

Impression:

Sid Another pass.
Hikaru Not for me either.


Maido! Urayasu Tekkin Kazoku

Maido! Urayasu Tekkin Kazoku
Genre:
Comedy
Release Date: July 06, 2014
Animation Production: Studio Deen

Summary: Join the madcap adventures of the Osawagi family. Little Kotetsu, arguably the most energetic boy in the town of Urayasu, is always getting into mischief with his band of quirky friends. Features unique, well-drawn characters and fast-paced action and humor.

Impression:

Sid I guess I’m just not watching shorts this season. Pass.
Hikaru Pass.


Strange  2

Strange+ 2
Genre:
Comedy, Slice of Life
Release Date: July 11, 2014
Animation Production: Seven

Summary: The second season of Strange+

Impression:

Sid Dropped the first season. Pass.
Hikaru Didn’t see the first. Pass.


Yama no Susume Season 2

Yama no Susume Season 2
Genre:
Slice of Life
Release Date: July 09, 2014
Animation Production: Earth Star Entertainment

Summary: The second season of Yama no Susume.

Impression:

Sid Never watched the first season, but maybe I should? Pass for now.
Hikaru Pass.


Yami Shibai 2

Yami Shibai 2
Genre:
Horror, Supernatural
Release Date: July 07, 2014
Animation Production: Ilca

Summary: The second season of Yami Shibai

Impression:

Sid I don’t remember why I dropped the first season, or if I even bothered picking it up. Maybe I’ll give this a little gander before the season.
Hikaru No horror for me again. Pass.

  • LOLDSFAN says:

    Will be watching Space☆Dandy 2 since I saw the first season on Toonami. And of course will be watching Hanamonogatari.

Leave a Reply