September 21, 2013
No Comments

Information and images were gathered from AniChart, Neregate, Anime Network, and MAL.

Fall 2013 Anime Chart v2

TV Series

Diabolik Lovers

Diabolik Lovers
Release Date
: Sept 16, 2013
Genre: Romance, Supernatural
Animation Production: Zexcs

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Tagashira, Shinobu (Character design Da Capo)

Midorikawa, Hikaru as Sakamaki, Ayato – Yuy, Heero (Mobile Suit Gundam Wing)
Kaji, Yuki as Sakamaki, Kanato – Arita, Haruyuki (Accel World)
Hirakawa, Daisuke as Sakamaki, Laito – Ryuugazaki, Rei (Free!)
Toriumi, Kousuke as Sakamaki, Shuu – Saitou, Hajime (Hakuouki)

Summary:
Komori Yui is a positive-thinking girl who nevertheless is troubled by seeing spirits and experiencing poltergeist phenomena. In her second year in high school, she transfers to a new school — a night school for entertainers and celebrities — due to her father’s work. There are rumours that vampires exist among the student body, and Yui ends up living with the six sadistic Sakamaki vampire brothers.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Ooooh since Free! is only one cour I’m glad we got another bishie anime this season but I’m a bit wary since director-san is a newbie and this is another one of those game adaptation so my expectation in this is low. Though I like the idea that our protagonist is living with 6 vampires and damn I find the PV quite sexy www. I just hope the girl is not annoying like the girl on Amnesia.

Potential Meter: 50%

Sid I feel like this anime isn’t really geared towards me since it’s another bishie anime. I don’t think I’ll be picking this one up after watching the first episode for I feel rather obvious reasons. Don’t worry though it seems we have others on the case!
Hikaru Seen the first two episodes and this is definitely out of my list for good. We got another heroine thrown into a pack of hungry wolves vampires. I’m really getting tired of all these otome adaptations and no bishie is going to save this show for me.
Joshua I’m attracted by the horror-ish theme, but the artwork doesn’t. 


Saikyou Ginga Ultimate Zero Battle Spirits

Saikyou Ginga Ultimate Zero: Battle Spirits
Release Date: September 22, 2013
Genre: Shounen
Animation Production: Sunrise

Notable Staff/Cast:
Music: Fukuhara, Kaori (Theme Song Performance of Lucky Star), Kato, Emiri (Theme Song Performance of Bakemonogatari

Summary:

Impressions:
Chidori3souske This looks like a original shounen show from Studio Pierrot and we got little info about it as of now so I think I’ll pass on this one since the  summary doesn’t really interest me.

Potential Meter: 10%

Sid A kiddy anime so pass.
Hikaru Needless to say, pass.
Joshua Didn’t follow the previous series. Gonna Pass.


Coppelion

Coppelion
Release Date
: October 2, 2013
Genre: Action, Sci-Fi
Animation Production: GoHands
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Suzuki, Shingo (Director of K)
Series Composition: Nakamura, Makoto (Series Composition of Seitokai Yakuindomo)
Music: Endo, Mikio (Music of K)

Hanazawa, Kana as Fukasaku, Aoi – Shiina, Mayuri (Steins;Gate)
Tomatsu, Haruka as Naruse, Ibara – Anjou, Naruko (AnoHana)
Horie, Yui as Ozu, Kanon – Hanekawa, Tsubasa (Bakemonogatari)
Sakamoto, Maaya as Ozu, Shion – Ryougi, Shiki (Kara no Kyoukai 1: Fukan Fuukei)

Summary:
Many years after a great tragedy killed 90% of the people in Japan, three girls arrive in the ruins of Tokyo. In the devastated capital, their unusually clean clothes set them apart. But that’s not the only strange thing about them – they also each wield supernatural powers. They call themselves “Coppelion,” and are on a mission to save the people of Tokyo.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Wow that was an impressive PV so the girls are so badass. The premise is interesting though this is just director-san’s second series he’s directing but he’s behind the key animation of several impressive action anime so this series really look promising. The script writer’s works are all mediocre so I don’t know how will that affect this series. Oh and the cast are all famous seiyuus and the lead role goes to Kana-tan! I’m loving this already.

Potential Meter: 90%

Sid This is probably my most looked forward to anime this season. The trailer was amazing with some great art work, beautiful music and a very captivating story. I actually saw this anime pop up a few previews ago and I was wondering what happened to it. My biggest worry is that it is by the same director of K which is an anime I thought did a terrible job in story telling. Thankfully everything else about K was pretty darn amazing so here’s hopes they fix the mistakes.
Hikaru Girls in post-apocalyptic setting. I’m in!
Joshua This looks pretty good, I’ll probably watch this. 


Gaist Crusher

Gaist Crusher
Release Date: October 2, 2013
Animation Production: Srudio Pierrot
Genre:

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Takamoto, Nobuhiro (Medaka no Gakkou)

Summary:
In the story, Gaimetal, a metal ore with high amounts of pure energy, was discovered 50,000 meters (160,000 feet) underground in 2047, and mining began all around the world. However, Gaist, metallic lifeforms whose bodies are entirely encrusted with Gaimetal, emerged in 2055 and began attacking people. In 2064, Rekka, Hayato, Kurama, and Siren are among those who suit up in Gaist Gear and battle over 100 varieties of Gaist creatures.

Impression:
Chidori3souske This looks like a original shounen show from Studio Pierrot and we got little info about it as of now so I think I’ll pass on this one since the  summary doesn’t really interest me.

Potential Meter: 10%

Sid I’m probably going to pass on this one as well. I mean I think most games based on video games made for everyone kind of flop. I don’t expect this to be anything special.
Hikaru ^Seconding that. Pass.
Joshua Pass.


Kyoukai no Kanata

Kyoukai no Kanata
Release Date: October 2, 2013
Genre: Fantasy
Animation Production: Kyoto Animation
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Ishidate, Taichi (Key Animation of Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu)
Series Composition: Steins;Gate (Steins;Gate)

Kenn as Kanbara, Akihito – Furuya, Kota (Ginga e Kickoff!!)
Taneda, Risa as Kuriyama, Mirai – Watanabe, Saki (Shinsekai yori)
Chihara, Minori as Nase, Mitsuki – Nagato, Yuki (Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu)
Suzuki, Tatsuhisa as Nase, Hiroomi – Tachibana, Makoto (Free!)

Summary:
Akihito Kanbara is a high school sophomore in the literature club who believes himself to be a “Meganest”, and although he appears to be human, he is actually half Yomu, which makes him invulnerable to wounds, due to the fact that he can heal so quickly, and also immortal. One day, Akihito meets freshman Mirai Kuriyama when it appears as if she is about to attempt suicide by jumping off of the school rooftop. Mirai is isolated because of her ability to manipulate blood, which is considered heresy even among other members of the underworld, so she is shunned. Soon after Akihito saves Mirai, disturbing events begin to arise.

Impression:
Chidori3souske WOW everything is so darn interesting in this KyoAni show of the season. That megane girl at the PV is so badass, hell everything in the PV is so badass! Here’s to hoping that finally, KyoAni will be stepping out of it’s comfort zone and hopefully this one will be full of action just like what the PV gave us if not it’ll be another slice-of-life KyoAni show which honestly, I’m getting tired of. Impressive staff and cast but director-san is a newbie so hopefully he’ll man up to the demand of an action packed anime. KyoAni is really good in adaptations so I guess I’m confident that this will be loyal to its light novel counterpart . I’ll definitely pick this up.

Potential Meter: 80%

Sid I’ll probably start watching this one as well and seeing how it goes. I have to admit though that I instantly thought of Deadman Wonderland when I saw the “manipulate blood” part in the PV and summary. I don’t think this anime will be anything like Deadman Wonderland though so I’m not too worried of copy-cat stories. It’s hard for me to judge from the preview but it’s strange that I thought of multiple OTHER anime first. Let’s see how it goes.
Hikaru Kyoani dark fantasy you say? Sold here. Definitely watching this one.
Joshua WILL DEFINITELY WATCH THIS!


Aikatsu! 2

Aikatsu! 2nd Series
Release Date: October 3, 2013
Genre: Card Games, Idols, Music, School
Animation Production: Sunrise

Notable Staff/Cast:
Morohoshi, Sumire as Hoshimiya, Ichigo – Takanomiya, Arisa (Onii-chan Dakedo Ai Sae Areba Kankeinai yo ne!)
Tadokoro, Azusa as Kiriya, Aoi – Meshiyori, Muneo (Dakara Boku wa, H ga Dekinai.)
Ohashi, Ayaka as Shibuki, Ran – Uno, Uzume (Fantasista Doll)

Summary:
Starlight Academy is facing a predicament thanks to the rise of the new rival idol training school, Dream Academy. The Dream Academy’s “cool beauty” Seira Otoshiro is a major new idol with talent in rock music and perfect pitch, while Kii Saekusa is a genius who enrolls in the academy’s producer course.
The two academies face off for the honor of training the top idol.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Didn’t watch the first season so this one is a pass.

Potential Meter: ?

Sid Also didn’t watch the first season so pass.
Hikaru Pass.
Joshua Pass.


Nagi no Asukara

Nagi no Asukara
Release Date: October 3, 2013
Genre: –
Animation Production: P.A. Works
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Shinohara, Toshiya (Director of RDG: Red Data Girl)
Series Composition: Okada, Mari (Script of AnoHana)
Music: Dewa, Yoshiaki (Theme Song Arrangement Fate/stay night)

Kayano, Ai as Hiradaira, Chisaki – Honma, Meiko (AnoHana)
Ohsaka, Ryota as Isaki, Kaname – Maou, Sadao (Hataraku Maou-sama!)
Ishikawa, Kaito as Kihara, Tsumugu – Ledo (Suisei no Gargantia)
Hanazawa, Kana as Mukaido, Manaka – Shiina, Mayuri (Steins;Gate)

Summary:
The series centers around two middle school friends, the indecisive crybaby Manaka Mukaido and Hikari Sakishima, who has looked after her since they were children.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Whoa!! An Okada, Mari show this season! I just love her works so yeah I’ll pick this up and prepare my body wwwww. Will she make a heart wrenching series, will she inspire us or is it both? Well, I’m going to watch this one and find out. I just wish we got some idea on the premise cause the summary is VERY vague but looking at it, it seems like a romance anime heck I wish it’ll have romance. Definitely looking forward to this!

Potential Meter: 80%

Sid The PV was really simple and sweet, and what really brought me in was the scenery. I thought that the city looked really awesome and different while still having a lot of familiarities. It’s probably going to have a pretty decent bit of comedy and drama based off the preview. More importantly I’m a sucker for childhood relationships so this fits right up my alley. I’m going to be watching this one till the end.
Hikaru A seemingly regular slice-of-life but I was intrigued by the fantasy mix of the sea dwellers. Will give this a shot.
Joshua Hmm… I will watch one episode before I decide. 


Outbreak Company

Outbreak Company
Release Date
: October 3, 2013
Genre: Fantasy
Animation Production: feel.
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Oikawa, Kei (Assistant Director of Papa no Iukoto wo Kikinasai!)
Series Composition: Arakawa, Naruhisa (Screenplay of Spice and Wolf 1&2)
Character Design: Mamezuka, Takashi (Character Design of Papa no Iukoto wo Kikinasai!)
Original Creator: Sakaki, Ichirou (Scrapped Princess, Shinkyoku Soukai Polyphonica & Strait Jacket)
Fuchigami, Mai as Ann Erudanto III, Petrarca – Nishizumi, Miho (Girls und Panzer)
Mimori, Suzuko as Foaran, Myuseru – Himiko (Btooom!)
Hanae, Natsuki as Kanou, Shinichi – Haimura, Kiri (Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge)

Summary:
Having a light novel author father and an eroge illustrator mother, Kanou Shinichi is a thoroughbred otaku. However he does not have any special power except for his broad knowledge, sharp insight, and impeccable instinct about “MOE” and its products, from manga to anime to games to light novel to figures. One day he found himself transported to a fantasy world where elves live and dragons fly. And he is given a task—not to fight monster or embark on a quest, but to enhance cultural exchange by becoming a “moe missionary” in this fantasy world! He meets a palace guard who has a bit of fujoshi taste, a half-elf maid, and the empress who is a little girl. He comes up with the idea of building a school. At first it runs as a comedy but later there are serious matters that Shinichi needs to face: ethnic discrimination, social problems, conflict with neighboring countries, sabotage by opposition elements including Japanese government, etc. Can he overcome the obstacles, successfully bring “moe” culture to the fantasy world, and help the people there as well?

Impression:
Chidori3souske From the creator of Scrapped Princess comes another series which I dunno if I should take seriously or not. Unfortunately I can’t find any PVs for this and the summary just doesn’t make any sense so so far I’m not inclined in picking this one up. Though Sakaki, Ichirou’s work sure have unusual stories and premise so I think it caught my interest for a bit.

Potential Meter: 30%

Sid This may not be true since I don’t speak Japanese but the trailer made it seem like it was much more badass than it really will be. I don’t see this being good at all and I don’t even want to give it the couple episodes to see since there are plenty of other potentially good anime out there this season. Even if it ends up being mediocre I’ll probably pass it.
HikaruI’m afraid this will end up as a fanservice. A pass for now.
Joshua I will watch a few episodes of this. I’m a fan of otaku anime about otakus…


Kyousougiga

Kyousogiga (TV)
Release Date
: October 2 ,2013
Genre: Action, Fantasy, Supernatural
Animation Production: Toei Animation

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director/Series Composition: Matsumoto, Rie (Asst. Director Heartcatch Precure! Movie: Hana no Miyako de Fashion Show… Desu ka!?)
Original Creator/Series Composition: Toudou, Izumi (Original Creator of Fresh Precure!)
Music: Shiina, Go (Gyo)

Kugimiya, Rie as Koto – Elric, Alphonse (Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood)
Suzumura, Kenichi as Myoue –  Tanaka, Yoshitake (Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou)
Hisakawa, Aya as Lady Koto – Skuld (Aa! Megami-sama! (TV))
Saito, Chiwa as Shouko – Akemi, Homura (Mahou Shoujo Madoka?Magica)

Summary:
Hidden within Tokyo is the “mirror capital” where youkai and humans live together and no one ever dies. It is protected by three people – Kurama, Yase, and Myoue – as they await the return of their parents, Myoue Jonin and Koto. One day a young girl named Koto (same name, different spelling) wanders into the city from a different dimension looking for her mother. A mecha-geek with red eyes, it’s not immediately clear whether she’s human or youkai. Her arrival upsets the long peace that had ruled the capital.

Impression:
Chidori3souske This series marked the first time Banpresto and Toei Animation collaborated together and these two companies launched a ONA last December 2011 which I failed to watch during that time. The summary is interesting and I like the animation style from the PV so I’ll probably pick this up. I didn’t have a chance to watch any of the director and original creator’s works so I don’t how this will turn out but for now I’ll try this out.

Potential Meter: 70%

Sid Of course I’ll be watching this one! I absolutely loved the ONA and OVA that came out earlier. I was looking forward to a full length season. I’m probably going to rewatch the other six episodes that are out before the season starts just so I make sure I remember everything. Definitely watching this one till the end!
Hikaru Not too sold about that premise but will give it a try.
Joshua Youkai Stuff! Definitely going to watch this. 


IS Infinite Stratos 2

IS -Infinite Stratos- 2
Release Date
: October 3, 2013
Genre: Action, Drama, Romance, Science Fiction
Animation Production: 8-bit Studio

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Kikuchi, Yasuhito (Assistant director of Sousei no Aquarion)
Music: Hikaru Nanase (Music of Chrono Crusade (TV))

Yukana as Alcott, Cecilia – C.C. (Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch)Inoue, Marina as Bodewig, Laura – Mikazuki, Yozora (Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai)
Hanazawa, Kana as Dunois, Charlotte – Gokou, Ruri (Oreimo)
Saito, Chiwa as Sarashiki, Tatenashi – Senjougahara, Hitagi (Bakemonogatari)

Summary:
Second season of Infinite Stratos.

Japan engineered an armed powered exoskeleton “Infinite Stratos” (IS) and it became the mainstream of weapons. Since only women can operate IS, women dominate the society over men. Orimura Ichika is a 15 year old boy and accidentally touches an IS placed in the IS pilot training school. He is found to be the only man who can operate IS and forced to enter the training school. Ichika’s busy school life surrounded by girls has begun.

Impression:
Chidori3souske I wasn’t able to finish season 1 cause I was really disappointed with the story since it was all about the harem building of the main guy. I don’t even know why this one got a season 2. If season 2 got better let me know and I’ll pick up season 1 again and watch this too but for now this one is a pass.

Potential Meter: 20%

Sid After watching the first season I think I’ve had plenty of IS for my entire life. I don’t need to see more harem anime that don’t go anywhere or have a pretty mediocre plot. I’ll admit that it wasn’t the worst harem I’ve seen, but that isn’t really saying much. Sorry guys but I’m going to be skipping this one.
Hikaru If I see more backstory for Ichika, I might just finish this one. I’d like to hear more of Kouki Uchimiya too.
Joshua Pass.


Kill La Kill

Kill la Kill
Release Date
: October 3, 2013
Genre: Action, School
Animation Production: Studio Trigger
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Imaishi, Hiroyuki (Director of Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann)
Series Composition: Nakashima, Kazuki (Series Composition of Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann)
Music: Sawano, Hiroyuki (Shingeki no Kyojin)

Yuzuki, Ryouka as Kiryuin, Satsuki – Shamal (Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A’s)
Koshimizu, Ami as Matoi, Ryuuko – Stadtfeld, Kallen (Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch)
Inada, Tetsu as Inumuta, Hoka – Kurogane (Tsubasa Chronicle)

Summary:
Ryuuko Matoi carries a large weapon shapes like half of a pair of scissors. She’s looking for the woman with the other half, who killed her father. Satsuki Kiryuuin, student council president of Honnouji Academy, is said to know the woman’s identity, so Ryuuko transfers there. Those who arrive at the school receive a special “reverse uniform,” and Satsuki has used that power to rule the school in fear.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Whoa big names there. Though the premise does not make any sense for now I bet everything would be new and creative specially with those talented people listed above. Oh and the music in this is the same person behind Shingeki no Kyojin’s music I got a feeling this will be one epic series and thankfully it’s a 2 cour series!

Potential Meter: 95%

Sid This is another badass anime that seems to be airing this season which I can’t wait to see. I’ll admit that I didn’t expect this type of art style but I’m actually pretty happy with it. It’s definitely an older look with some new-age feel. I was a bit nervous that the anime was going to be pretty lost since it takes place in a school, but after watching the PV I feel like it will be nothing like those typical high school fighter anime. I can’t wait for this one to start and will watch it till the end.
Hikaru Might give this a few episodes try.
Joshua I trust Danny Choo’s taste (so far he’s only been wrong about that stone cat anime) and so I’ll watch this recommendation of his. 


Golden Time

Golden Time
Release Date: October 3, 2013
Genre: Comedy, Romance
Animation Production: J.C. Staff
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Kon, Chiaki (Director of Nodame Cantabile Finale)
Series Composition: Shimo, Fumihiko (Series Composition of Kanon (2006) & Kokoro Connect)
Music: Hashimoto, Yukari (Music of Mawaru Penguindrum)

Horie, Yui as Kaga, Kouko – Hanekawa, Tsubasa (Bakemonogatari)
Ishikawa, Kaito as Yanagisawa, Mitsuo – Ledo (Suisei no Gargantia)
Kayano, Ai as Hayashida, Nana – Honma, Meiko (Ano Hana)

Summary:
Tada Banri is a newly admitted student at a private law school in Tokyo. Due to the after-effects of an accidental fall from a bridge shortly after high school graduation, he lost all his memories from before then. At the time of the accident, Banri’s soul had escaped from his body, and the Spirit of Tada Banri came into being, carrying his memories from before graduation.

Banri finds himself completely lost after the opening ceremony, trying to find his way to the freshman orientation. At that moment, he runs into another lost freshman from the same school, Yanagisawa Mitsuo, and they hit it off at once. Somehow arriving at their intended goal just on time, there appears in front of them a beautiful girl holding a bouquet of roses, who hits Mitsuo across the face with them and hands the flowers over to him. This stylish, well dressed, and perfect woman is his childhood friend Kaga Kouko. As children, they had promised to marry each other one day, fulfilling their dreams. In order to escape from her, Mitsuo had gone out secretly and taken the examination for this well-known private college, but she also took the law school entrance examination, catching up with him there.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Oh yes! We got another one of those Rom-Com J.C. Staff (Toradora!, Ano Natsu de Matteru) shows! The premise is interesting and the staff behind this have worked on similar shows and with Shimo, Fumihiko-san behind the series composition I got a feeling this will surely tug my heart strings. Oh and Horie, Yui-san will be the lead though her voice on the PV sounds like Hanekawa’s voice but still, I love her ojou-sama voice. Will definitely pick this up.

Potential Meter: 90%

Sid I’m not entirely sure how this anime will turn out but I’m definitely looking forward to it. For one I’m happy that it doesn’t take place in high school which most of you by now know is quite repetitive for me. I actually think that this will be a romance anime I wont grow to hate after the first half and then tolerate for the second half in order to write a review. My faith mostly coming from the fact that it is directed by Chiaki Kon who also directed one of my favorite rom-com Nodame Cantabile Finale). I’m really happy that they brought Yui Horie on as well since I consider her to be an amazing voice actress. If it has the same musical style as Mawaru Penguindrum as well then I’m sold that this will be an amazing anime.
Hikaru Been missing my dose of romcom. Will try to include this on my list this season.
Joshua This looks interesting. Will watch. 


Strike the Blood

Strike the Blood
Release Date: October 4, 2013
Genre: Action, Fantasy, Romance
Animation Production: SILVER LINK. & CONNECT
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Yamamoto, Hideyo (Director of New Prince of Tennis)
Series Composition: Yoshino, Hiroyuki (Series Composition of Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic)
Sound Director: Aketagawa, Jin (Sound Director of Rinne no Lagrange & Toradora!)

Hosoya, Yoshimasa as Akatsuki, Kojou – Wataya, Arata (Chihayafuru)
Taneda, Risa as Himeragi, Yukina – Watanabe, Saki (Shinsekai yori)
Seto, Asami as Aiba, Asagi – Ayase, Chihaya (Chihayafuru)

Summary:
The Fourth Primogenitor—That’s the world’s strongest vampire that should only exist in legends. Accompanied by twelve Kenjuu and spreading calamity, this phantom vampire appeared in Japan. For the observation and obliteration of this Fourth Primogenitor, the government and Lion King decided to dispatch an attack mage known as a Sword Shaman. However, for some reason, the one chosen for the observation was a apprentice Sword Shaman girl, Himegari Yukina. Wielding the strongest anti-primogenitor spirit spear, Yukina arrived at Demon District, Itogami City. What is the true identity of the Fourth Primogenitor, Akatsuki Kojou, she encountered over there!?

Impression:
Chidori3souske I love the PV it’s full of action and beautiful girls. I’d like to see the chemistry between the vampire and the hunter since this has romance elements in it. I think I’d trust the staff on this one since they are behind some great shows oh and here’s to hoping we’ll have one awesome OST on this one since Aketagawa, Jin-san is the director.

Potential Meter: 75%

Sid I actually am not a huge fan of vampire series in anime with some exceptions like Bakemonogatari, Blood Lad, and Karin. Thankfully this one seems to fall in the same line as them having some sweet action sshots from the PV and strong characters. There wasn’t much dialogue in the PV but there was some awesome music. I’m looking forward to this one as well and will most likely watch it till the end.
Hikaru The BGM caught me and I loved the possibility of battle with those visuals. Will give this a few episodes try.
Joshua The kawaii factor is pretty high on this one. The Panda is sold. 


Freezing Vibration

Freezing Vibration
Release Date: October 4, 2013
Genre: Action, Sci Fi, Ecchi
Animation Production: ACGT
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Takashi Watanabe (Shakugan no Shana (TV))
Series Composition: Masanao Akahoshi (Toaru Majutsu no Index II (TV))

Ichiki, Mitsuhiro as Aoi, Kazuya – Kazami, Tomohiko (Another)
Noto, Mamiko as el Bridget, Satellizer – Kuronuma, Sawako (Kimi ni Todoke)
Hanazawa, Kana as Linchen, Rana – Gokou, Ruri (OreImo)
Inoue, Marina as Fairchild, Chiffon – Mikazuki, Yozora (Haganai)

Summary:
Second season of Freezing.

Set in a slightly futuristic world where Earth has been invaded and is at war with aliens from another dimension called the Nova, the story follows the adventures of a Japanese boy named Kazuya Aoi who enrolls for training at a special school for genetically modified girls called Pandoras who battle the aliens, and their male partners, called Limiters, who use a special power called “freezing” to limit their opponent’s mobility. The protagonist makes the acquaintance of an unusual older girl named Satellizer el Bridget who appears to be the most powerful Pandora in her class, but has not yet chosen a male partner to be her Limiter, and in spite of the warnings of all his friends, he decides to be her Limiter.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske I did watch the first season (if your interested here’s my review) but gosh I’ve already forgotten what the story is about (well it’s really forgettable www) and how the anime ended all I can remember is I really like Satellizer. Seems like it will  pick up where the first season left off and  expects girls ripping each others clothes out and of course bouncing boobs. Well it got some decent action and I tolerated the first season and hopefully this installment the fanservice would be done by a person with good taste.

Potential Meter: 20%

Sid Honestly I wasn’t a big fan of the first season since it differed from the manga quite a bit which I read pretty far into. I think at some point I was caught up but then got busy and fell behind again. If I recall correctly I would have been happy if they continued the story so I’ll probably end up watching this season. Satellizer alone makes it worth while since she is one of my favorite characters of any anime. I’m really hoping they decide not to do it as a 4:3 anime again.
Hikaru Pass
Joshua Pass


Seiyuu Sentai Voicetorm

Seiyuu Sentai Voicetorm
Release Date:
Genre:
Animation Production:

Notable Staff/Cast:

Summary:
The motion comic will take the original manga and combine it with spoken dialogue, motion effects, and other special effects to create 12 15-minute episodes. The series will premiere on NTV in October

Impressions:
Chidori3souske
 Will pass also on this one.
Sid I’m not really sure what to say since it doesn’t seem to have much information surrounding it but I’ll give it a go. I mean, it is the first motion comic that will air on NTV.
Hikaru A pass for now.
Joshua Pass.


Yuusha ni Narenakatta

Yuusha ni Narenakatta Ore wa Shibushibu Shuushoku o Ketsui Shimashita
Release date: October 4, 2013
Genre: Comedy, Fantasy, Romance
Animation Production: Asread
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Yoshimoto, Kinji (Director of Genshiken 2)
Series Composition: Suzuki, Masashi (Oda Nobuna no Yabou)

Tadokoro, Azusa as Bloodstone, Phino – Kiriya, Aoi (Aikatsu!)
Koumoto, Keisuke as Chaser, Raul – Misaki, Youhei (RDG: Red Data Girl)

Summary:
Raul had always wanted to be a hero, but failed the exams necessary to become one. He reluctantly took a job working at a small electronics store called Magic Shop Leon. His life is dull but busy until a new girl comes applying for a part time job. She’s the daughter of the demon king who defeated him in his exam.

Impression:
Chidori3souske The summary looks mediocre and I can’t find PVs as of this writing. Even the staff’s works are unfamiliar and the cast too are all newbies. Not expecting much from this so I think I’ll past on this one.

Potential Meter: 30%

Sid I think I’ll give this anime a couple episode before I make my decision. The extremely short PV just showed that it is going to be ecchi without much else. I’m a little curious as to what kind of guy the main character will be. It may end up being a decent comedy.
Hikaru I loved my latest Demon King-Hero combi in Hataraku Maou-sama so topping that will be a challenge. Still, will give this a try.
Joshua This seemed to have the potential to be another To Love-Ru. Will watch it. 


Little Busters! Refrain

Little Busters!: Refrain
Release Date: October 5, 2013
Genre: Comedy
Animation Production: J.C. Staff

Noteable Staff/Cast:
Maeda, Jun (Original Creator of Angel Beats)
Hinoue, Itaru (Original Character Design of Clannad and Kanon)

Summary:
Second season of Little Busters!

Impressions:
Chidori3souske I’ve watched other Key anime like Air, Kanon, Clannad and even Angel Beats (if that one counts) but unfortunately this one didn’t seem to interest me and wasn’t able  to pickup the 1st season. Since this is a sequel I’ll pass on this one.

Potential Meter: ?

Sid People keep telling me I should watch this anime but I never got around to doing it so I’ll have to pass on this one as well.
Hikaru Didn’t see the previous season. Pass.
Joshua Pass.


Hajime no Ippo Rising

Hajime no Ippo Rising
Release Date: October 5, 2013
Genre: Sports
Animation Production: MADHOUSE

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Shishido, Jun (Director of Saiunkoku Monogatari 2nd Season)
Original Creator: Morikawa, George
Series Composition: Fudeyasu, Kazuyuki (Series Composition of Ben-To)

Summary:
The third series of Hajime no Ippo.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Didn’t watch the first nor the 2nd season so this one is a pass for me.
Potential Meter: ?
Sid Another anime that is extremely popular that I never ended up watching. Pass.
Hikaru Pass.
Joshua Pass. 


Log Horizon

Log Horizon
Release Date: October 5, 2013
Genre: Adventure, Fantasy, Romance
Animation Production: Satelight
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Ishihira, Shinji (Director of Fairy Tail)
Series Composition: Nemoto, Toshizou (Series Composition of Inu x Boku SS)
Music: Takanashi, Yasuharu (Music of Jigoku Shoujo)
Original Creator: Touno, Mamare (Maoyuu Maou Yuusha)

Terashima, Takuma as Shiroe – Wolf (Blood Lad)
Kato, Emiri as Akatsuki – Kyuubey (Mahou Shoujo Madoka?Magica)
Maeno, Tomoaki as Naotsugu – Tachibana, Junich (Amagami SS)
Nakata, Jouji as Nyanta – Kotomine, Kirei (Fate/Zero)

Summary:
The story begins when 30,000 Japanese gamers are trapped in the fantasy online game world Elder Tale. What was once a sword-and-sorcery world is now the real world. The main lead Shiroe attempts to survive with his old friend Naotsugu and the beautiful assassin Akatsuki.

Impression:
Chidori3souske So premise seems like Sword Art Online all over again looks like this one’s salvation will be on the execution. I’m really hoping it’ll be interesting despite the de ja vu summary. Can’t really judge this one yet since I’m not too familiar with the works of the staff (I haven’t finished maoyuu maou & inu x boku www) but we got one all star cast so I guess I’ll give this one a couple of eps.

Potential Meter 60%

Sid I’m already judging this anime completely since it is so similar to Sword Art Online. I think the big difference is that the PV made it seem a little less drama filled and heart breaking. I think having a bit more comedy than SAO will be its salvation. I’m giong to give it a few episodes to see how it turns out.
Hikaru SAO incarnate? Pass for now.
Joshua I smell Accel world/SWO and since I’m a fan of this theme, I will have to watch this. 


Walkure Romanze

Walkure Romanze
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Romance
Anime Production: Lantis 8bit
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Yamamoto, Yuusuke

Kazuyuki Fudeyasu (Series Composition of Kampfer)
Miyuki Hashimoto (Theme Song Performance of Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Bride)
Eriko Nakamura (VA as Haruka Amami from The iDOLM@STER)

Summary:
The story centers around Takahiro Mizuno, a student training to be a begleiter (knight’s assistant) at an academy where aspiring knights joust. He himself had come to this academy to train as a knight, after becoming the unrivaled junior champion in his own home country. However, an injury in a tournament’s finals forced him to withdraw. Instead, he decides to be a begleiter to one of the academy’s maiden knights and help her win.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Oh lol nice concept (jousting) for a harem show and I loved the animation during the jousting event. This one also based from a game so I’m not expecting much but man the girls are gorgeous and the animation was beautiful in the PV so it got me interested to at least check out a couple of episodes.

Potential Meter: 50%

Sid The story is definitely different from other romance anime out there, but I’m not a huge fan of the art style or the bit s of ecchi. I’m hoping that it doesn’t turn out to be terrible so I’ll give it a go. I’m mostly hoping that he actually ends up with a girl instead of randomly running around being the ‘nice guy’ and having everyone fall for him only to be stuck single. Plus Eriko Nakamura is a VA for it so that’s always a good fall back.
Hikaru I’m not the market for this one. Pass.
Joshua Pass


Meganebu!

Meganebu!
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Shoujo
Anime Production: Studio Deen
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Soubi Yamamoto (Kono Danshi, Ningyo Hiroimashita.)
Series Composition: Deco Akao (Nazo no Kanojo X)

Atsushi Tamaru as Takuma Hachimine (Ooji, Mochizou of Tamako Market)
Junichi Suwabe as Yukiya Minabe (Archer ofFate/stay night)
Kenji Akabane as Akira Sōma (Producer of The iDOLM@STER)

Summary:
The story revolves around a group of 5 glasses-wearing high school boys and their relationship.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske So, who wants guys with glasses? We got another bishounen show this season that would probably all girls out there giddy. The premise isn’t interesting for me even the PV so I’ll pass on this one.

Potential Meter: 30%

Sid I can’t really say much with such a vague summary and flashy PV. I did like the music quite a bit but I’m pretty sure this is just a glasses fetish anime. So many pretty boys. Pass.
Hikaru Megane-bishies? Hmmm. I’m a bit skeptical but will give it a try.
Joshua Pass. 


Magi The Labyrinth of Magic 2

Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic 2
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Action
Anime Production: A-1 Pictures

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Koji Masunari
Series Composition: Hiroyuki Yoshino
Music: Shiro Sagisu

Haruka Tomatsu as Morgiana
Kaori Ishihara as Aladdin
Yuuki Kaji as Alibaba Saluja

Summary:
The second season will be set in Magnostadt.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Can you believe it I still haven’t finished the first season? I heard lots of praises for this show so I guess it’s time to finish the first season before I pick this one up

Potential Meter: ?

Sid Never got around to watching the first season so pass.
Hikaru The previous season was a bit boring for a shounen adventure. But the better part of the story begins here. Will try to watch this.
Joshua Pass.


White Album 2

White Album 2
Release Date:
October 16, 2013
Genre: Drama
Anime Production: Satelight
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Ando, Masaomi (Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse)
Series Composition: Maruto, Fumiaki

Mizushima, Takahiro as Kitahara, Haruki –Yaegashi, Taichi (Kokoro Connect)
Yonezawa, Madoka as Ogiso, Setsuna – Hirasawa, Ui(K-On!)
Nabatame, Hitomi as Touma, Kazusa – Kishimoto, Kei (Gantz)

Summary:
The story centers around a college junior named Haruki Kitahara and his relationships with Setsuna Ogiso and Kazuki Touma in the light music club.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Ooooh so this one is not a sequel since it is not related to the story of the first season. But this is another one of those game to anime adaptations so I’m not expecting much though Muruto-san, in charge of the series compositions, is also the person who wrote the scenario of the games so somehow I expect it to be loyal to the source material. So far, I’m not to interested in picking this one up.

 

Potential Meter: 40%

Sid Again, I’ll probably watch the first few episodes because it takes place in college instead of high school. Though I can’t say that the whole ‘light music club’ thing has be convinced. Plus I watched the PV and that didn’t have the best art in the world. The characters seem to be pretty stiff. It’s a drama so I’m going to just assume that it ends up in a love triangle between the three and no one ends up getting with him. I watched the five minute PV which kind of gave away the whole story and some pretty key moments as well. My biggest hope is that it brings out some good OST material. Two episodes for me.
Hikaru Pass.
Joshua I probably will watch this. 


Kuroko no Basket 2

Kuroko no Basket 2
Release Date:
October 6, 2013
Genre: Comedy, Sports
Anime Production: Production I.G.

Summary:
The second season of Kuroko no Basket.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske I love the 1st season of Kuroko no Basket with it’s exciting basketball action, interesting story and drool inducing bishies so I’ll pick this up.
Sid Pass, didn’t watch the first season.

Hikaru I’ve been looking forward to this since the first series ended! Kurobas is definitely on my list!
Joshua I caught the first season, it was pretty alright. Will follow this series to watch how it turns out. 


Phi Brain Kami no Puzzle 3rd Season

Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 3rd Season
Release Date: October 6, 2013
Genre: Action, Game
Animation Production: Sunrise

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Endou, Hirotaka (Asst. Director of Solty Rei)
Series Composition: Satou, Junichi (Director of Tamayura) & Sekijima, Mayori (Series Composition of Pandora Hearts)
Asanuma, Shintaro as Daimon, Kaito – Mayuzumi, Takumu (Accel World)
Fukuyama, Jun as Sakanoue, Gammon – Togashi, Yuuta (Chuunibyou)
Miyata, Kouki as Galois, Cubic – Tsuchiya, Kouta (Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu)

Summary:
The third season of Phi Brain.

Kaito Daimon would be a completely average high school student except for one thing: he’s a ‘demon’ at solving puzzles. Kaito is so brilliant, in fact, that when he’s asked to take some ‘special’ tests of his unique ability, he immediately suspects that the test itself is a test. Kaito suddenly finds himself caught up in a lethal Philosopher’s Puzzle made by the sinister group POG, a murderous maze of trap upon trap, where failing to solve the secret correctly will result in death! Fortunately, Kaito’s skills prove up to the first test, both for himself and his childhood friend Nanoha, who is also caught up in the deadly scheme. But now that he has been designated as a Solver, he is pulled into a new life where he must travel the world with other Solvers, attempting to solve the latest deadly riddles left by POG. There’s a new conundrum around every corner and each deception could lead to death, but once a riddle has been posed, you can count on Kaito to unfold, unravel and unlock it!

Impression:
Chidori3souske I didn’t pick up Phi Brain before so I’ll pass on this one.

Potential Meter: ?

Sid I think this was the only anime I actually dropped just before the end of the first season because I got bored. It’s already on season three? Either I missed out on something or it’s just one of those anime that wont end.
Hikaru Didn’t see the previous seasons. Pass.
Joshua Pass.


Ace of Diamond

Diamond no Ace
Release Date: October 6, 2013
Animation Production: Madhouse/Production I.G.

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Mitsuyuki, Masuhara (Shirokuma Cafe)
Shimazaki, Nobunaga as Furuya, Satoru – Nanase, Haruka (Free!)
Hanae, Natsuki as Kominato, Haruichi – Haimura, Kiri (Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge)
Sakurai, Takahiro as Miyuki, Kazuya – Kururugi, Suzaku (Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch)
Ohsaka, Ryota as Sawamura, Eijun – Blood, Charlie Staz (Blood Lad)

Summary:
It is a manga of high school baseball. The main character, who is a pitcher from a country high school, accidentally gets teamed up with a catcher from a school with an elite baseball team. He decides to quit his school to attend the school that this catcher plays.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Whoa 2 big names in the animation industry teamed up to make this baseball themed anime. Is it that good? To be honest I don’t know and the summary didn’t even catch my attention and there’s still no PVs available as of this writing but the manga has been praised by some reviewers. Another thing to note are the Seiyuus…big names there but I’m afraid that’s not enough but I’ll just try a couple of eps first since with those 2 studios I got a feeling this might be a great show after all.

Potential Meter: 60%

Sid I actually want to pick this one up because I haven’t seen a sports anime in a long time. The last sports anime I watched was more about management than the actual sport. So I’ll give this one a go for the first few episodes.
Hikaru Pass.
Joshua Pass. 


Yozakura Quartet Hana no Uta

Yozakura Quartet: Hana no Uta
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Action, Shounen
Anime Production: Tatsunoko Productions

Summary:
In a town where humans and demons co-exist, it takes more than a normal police force to maintain the peace. Enter the Hiizumi Life Counseling Office, a fantastic foursome of unique teenagers, each gifted with an amazing super power!

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Good thing this is an alternate re-telling of Yozakura Quartet, which was broadcast last 2008, cause I wasn’t able to watch it. The trailer sure got me hooked with all those badass action and even the premise is interesting. I’ll pick this up.

 

Potential Meter: 70%

Sid I loved the first make of Yozakura Quartet, the OVA, and now they are coming out with a full season? How could I not watch this? I missed the characters a lot and can’t wait to see more. Watching this one till the very end.
Hikaru I;ve seen the previous season and it wasn’t bad. Will give this version a try.
Joshua Youkai stuff. Will watch.


Tesagure! Bukatsu-mono

Tesagure! Bukatsumono
Release Date: October 6, 2013
Genre: Slice of Life
Anime Production: Tesagure! Production Committee

Summary:
The CG anime centers around the extracurricular activities of students

Impressions:
Chidori3souske I can’t find any PV and the summary is very vague and doesn’t even look interesting so I’ll pass on this one.
Sid I can’t seem to find a stand alone PV and the summary is pretty vague. It might turn out to be a low priority watch so I’ll give it a couple episodes to see how I like the characters.

Hikaru Pass.
Joshua I will watch this. It reminds me of K-on/ Love Lab.


Sekai de Ichiban Tsuyoku Naritai!

Sekai de Ichiban Tsuyoku Naritai!
Release Date
: October 6, 2013
Genre: Action, Ecchi, Sports
Animation Production: Arms
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Taketatsu, Ayana as Hagiwara, Sakura – Kousaka, Kirino (OreImo)
Asumi, Kana as Miyazawa, Erena – Yuno (Hidamari Sketch)
Tomatsu, Haruka as Kazama, Rio – Morgiana (Magi: The Kingdom of Magic)
Hanazawa, Kana as Sanada, Juri – Gokou, Ruri (OreImo)

Summary:
Hagiwara Sakura and Miyazawa Erena are the leading members of a popular idol group Sweet. One day, Erena is injured by the attack of a female pro-wrestler Kazama Rio during the recording of a TV program. Sakura gets mad at Rio and gives her a dropkick. To avenge Erena, Sakura enters the female pro-wrestling matches.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Well it got an all star cast but oh gosh the PV…I had to mute it cause it sounds so lewd…it’s Arms so yeah what more can I expect wwwww. Sorry but I’ll pass on this one.

Potential Meter: 0%
Sid Oh god that PV… pass. So much pass. Crazy amounts of pass. I’m really hoping no one in the hallway of my building heard that and are judging me.

Hikaru That odd premise and ecchi makes it a no for me.
Joshua As the resident fan of Ecchi reviewer, I will watch a few episodes and see how it goes. 


Unbreakable Machine-Doll

Kikou Shoujo wa Kizutsukanai
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Action, Seinen
Anime Production: Genco Media Factory lerche
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Kinji Yoshimoto (Genshiken 2)
Series Composition: Yuuko Kakihara(Chihayafuru 2)

Hiro Shimono as Raishin Akabane (Katsuragi, Keima of Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai)
Hitomi Harada as Yaya (Himeji, Mizuki of Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu)
Ai Kayano as Irori (Honma, Meiko of AnoHana)

Summary:
During the early 20th century, along with technological advancements, scientists were able to develop sophisticated magic. The combination of science and sorcery was Makinot, circuits made from spells that were put into objects to bring them to life and even gain a personality. It was developed as a military weapon and has now spread throughout the world.

Akabane Raishin is now attending the Royal Academy to become the best in the world. Accompanied by the lovely teenage girl Yaya, who is actually Raishin’s puppet weapon, he plans on rocketing to the top of the class. However, his test scores come nearly dead last although his combat skills and determination are second to none. Raishin has to compete with the deadliest of classmates if he wants to come out as the king.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Oh no, another interesting show this season (oh man I picked up A LOT of shows again) with a good combination of action, fantasy and even romance so I’m definitely in! My only complain I guess would be the ugly CG used in the PV but otherwise this one seems like a good show.

Potential Meter: 70%

Sid So the PV for this anime looked pretty darn cool. Plus scientists creating magic? Now that’s a spin on fantasy I really want to see. It seems like a healthy balance between romance, action, and comedy. I’m not entirely sure how well the story is going to pan out since it doesn’t seem to have the best foundation. I think this anime is going to rely heavily on character development to be a worth while watch.
Hikaru Bishies and battles. Sold.
Joshua Will watch it due to kawaii factor. 


Gundam Build Fighters

Gundam Build Fighters
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Action, Mecha
Anime Production: Sunrise

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Kenji Nagasaki (Asst. Director of Mobile Suit Gundam 00)
Series Composition: Yousuke Kuroda (Btooom!)
Music: Yuuki Hayashi (Blood Lad)

Mikako Komatsu as Sei Iori (Neko from K)
Sachi Kokuryu as Reiji (Shirogane, Subaru fromCross Fight B-Daman)
Yui Ishikawa as China Kōsaka (Ackerman, Mikasa from Shingeki no Kyojin)

Summary:
The story is set in the near future when GunPla Battles, competitions that pit Gundam plastic models against each other, have become popular worldwide in the “Second GunPla Boom.” Sei Iori, a first-year middle-school student and the only son of a model shop owner, is talented at building GunPla, but inexperienced in the GunPla Battles. He encounters a mysterious boy named Reiji, who happens to be an accomplished Gundam Fighter. Together, they strive for the GunPla Battle world championships.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske This is a new take in the Gundam franchise that reminds me a lot of Angelic Layer. Though it’s not a bad thing to try something new but I’m missing the intergalactic space battles and human vs human conflict that is like a trade mark of the Gundam franchise. Well, I love mecha and this new concept is quite interesting so I guess I’ll give this one a try.

Potential Meter: 60%

Sid I do like Gundam and I kind of miss it but I’m sadly going to pass on this one. I don’t think I have the time to watch something just for its nostalgic points.
Hikaru Pass.
Joshua I hate to admit it but… I haven’t caught the original Gundam because I am not a big mecha fan, so I would have to pass on this ironic series. I will pick up Gundam someday… I promise. 

 


Gingitsune

Gingitsune
Release Date: October 7, 2013
Genre: Seinen
Anime Production: Diomedea
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Misawa, Shin (Kochira Katsushika-ku Kamearikouen-mae Hashutsujo)
Script: Hiroshi Yamaguchi (Rosario + Vampire)

Kanemoto, Hisako as Saeki, Makoto – Katyusha(Girls und Panzer)
Miki, Shinichiro as Gintarou – Ono, Yusuke (Antique Bakery)
Fujimura, Ayumi as Haru – Ayuzawa, Misaki(Kaichou wa Maid-sama!)

Summary:
Gintaro is a fox spirit that has been protecting the small Inari temple since the Edo era. Saeki Makoto’s family possesses the power to see the gods’ agent, but the ability is limited to one living relative at a time. When Makoto’s mother passed away while she was still young, Makoto inherited the ability as the sole remaining family member. With the help of fox spirit’s power, Makoto and Gintaro help the people of their community, in spite of their many differences.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske The PV, the summary and even the staff/cast didn’t caught my attention and the character design looks errrr weird and the way the fox spoke with only the side of the mouth moving was somewhat distracting. Oh well, with lots of other good shows this season I’m sorry but I’ll have to pass on this one.

Potential Meter: 40%

Sid This anime actually looks kind of sweet and touching. I don’t think it will be anything spectacular but it has its charm. I’m probably going to end up watching this one till the end for a bit of relaxation after some hardcore anime.
Hikaru Natsume Yuujinchou is my standard for the supernatural/slice-of-life genre. The art and basic premise looks too simple for me. Pass.
Joshua Fox Spirit = Sold!

 


Tokyo Ravens

Tokyo Ravens
Release Date: October 9, 2013
Genre: Action, Comedy, Supernatural
Anime Production: 8bit
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Takaomi Kanasaki (Kore wa Zombie Desu ka?)
Series Composition: Hideyuki Kurata (OreImo)

Kaito Ishikawa as Harutora Tsuchimikado (Ledo of Suisei no Gargantia)
Kana Hanazawa as Natsume Tsuchimikado (Sengoku, Nadeko of Bakemonogatari)
Aki Toyosaki as Kon (Uiharu, Kazari of Toaru Kagaku no Railgun)
Eri Kitamura as Kyoko Kurahashi (Miki, Sayaka of Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica)
Ryohei Kimura as Toji Ato (Hasegawa, Kodakaof Haganai)

Summary:
Tsuchimikado Harutora was born into a prestigious Onmyoji family, but he can’t see “spirit energy”. Therefore, he’s been enjoying a peaceful daily life with his friends at an Onmyo branch school. One day, his childhood friend Tsuchimikado Natsume, heir to the head family, suddenly appears. Will this cause his destiny spring into motion!?

Impressions:
Chidori3souske The premise have that ‘been there done that’ feel to it and even the PV isn’t that impressive but when I looked at the cast, wow, lots of famous names there. The great cast is not enough to make me want to watch this so I’ll pass on this one.

Potential Meter: 50%

Sid I‘m thinking that this anime will be decent and a low priority watch by the end. I thought the PV was kind of neat though the CG was meh. I don’t have high hopes so I’ll probably give it a few episodes before making my call.
Hikaru Will five this a try.
Joshua This  looks good, will watch it. 

 


Non Non Biyori

Non Non Biyori
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Comedy
Anime Production: Media Factory
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Shinya Kawamo (Kokoro Connect)
Script: Reiko Yoshida (K-ON!Girls und Panzer),
Fumihiko Shimo (The Melancholy of Haruhi SuzumiyaInfinite StratosFate/stay night), and
Yuka Yamada (Bungaku ShōjoTamayura – More AggressiveMushi-Shi)

Ayane Sakura as Natsumi Koshigaya (Mikazuki, Yozora from Haganai)
Kana Asumi as Komari Koshigaya (Kitahara, Miofrom Ano Natsu de Matteru)
Kotori Koiwai as Renge Miyauchi (Mushanokouji, Iwai from Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge)
Rie Murakawa as Hotaru Ichijō (Futaba, Aoifrom Vividred Operation

Summary:
Elementary school student Ichijou Hotaru has moved with her parents from Tokyo to the middle of the country. Now she must adapt to her new school, where there are a total of 5 students in the same class who range through elementary and middle school ages. Join their everyday adventures in the countryside.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Whoa the PV look so peaceful as well as the premise it looks boring but the staff behind this series have handled several great anime so I guess if they could handle this well it’ll be an awesome slice of life show. If you guys want a dose of moe with a slice of life story I think you should give this one a try.

Potential Meter: 50%

Sid I was originally going to pass on this anime since it didn’t seem like it would hold my interest but the PV changed my mind. Again it seems like one of those anime that wont have some spectacular story or characters, but its own little charm. I’m going to watch this one to the end.
Hikaru Pass.
Joshua Slice of life cuteness is totally my thing. Will watch it. 

 


Arpeggio of Blue Steel Ars Nova

Aoki Hagane no Arpeggio
Release Date: October 8, 2013
Genre: Action, Sci-Fi, Seinen
Anime Production: SANZIGEN
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Seiji Kishi (Angel Beats!Danganronpa)
Series Composition: Makoto Uezu (Katanagatari)
Music: Masato Kōda

Kazuyuki Okitsu as Gunzō Chihaya (Moid, Balance T. of Rinne no Lagrange)
Mai Fuchigami as Iona (Nishizumi, Miho ofGirls und Panzer)
Manami Numakura as Takao (Ganaha, Hibiki ofThe iDOLM@STER)

Summary:
In the story, a Fleet of Fog loaded with super weapons suddenly appear all over the world. Without the ability to withstand this fleet, humanity was defeated and could no longer travel the seas. 17 years after the devastating naval war, Chihaya Gunzou and his friends somehow commandeer a Fleet of Fog submarine and rename it I-401. Together with Iona, they take on the Fleet of Fog.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske SANZIGEN, the studio responsible for the 3D CG of Black★Rock Shooter (TV) is back but this time they are producing their own anime. The premise is interesting and the action looks pretty but the draw back of the use of CG is the seemingly stiff postures of the characters. I also noticed in the PV that the facial expressions are also stiff though I don’t know if it was intentional since the girls here are “humanoid interface”. Here’s to hoping it’ll have one gripping story.

Potential Meter: 75%

Sid A war anime with a mysterious girl? Count me in. The preview looked amazing with some quality visuals too. I’m a little curious as to how devastating only remaining on land or air is since the Fleet of Fog only “caused humanity to “no longer travel the seas”. Nevertheless it seems interesting so I’m watching it till the end.
Hikaru Another series with girls in war. Pass.
Joshua Big fan of Saikano. Hope this is similar. Will follow. 

 


Yowamushi Pedal

Yowamushi Pedal
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Comedy
Anime Production: Toho Company
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Osamu Nabeshima (D.Gray-manSaint Seiya: The Lost CanvasZetman)
Series Composition: Reiko Yoshida (Tamako MarketK-ON!Bakuman.)
Music: Kan Sawada

Daiki Yamashita as Sakamichi Onoda
Jun Fukushima as Shōkichi Naruko (Manabe, Yoshihisa of Kotoura-san)
Kousuke Toriumi as Shunsuke Imaizumi (Saitou, Hajime of Hakuouki)

Summary:
Otaku Sakamichi Onoda has just entered high school and plans to join the anime club. In middle school, Onoda didn’t have any friends with whom he could talk about anime, games, Akihabara and other otaku things, and he is hoping he can make such friends in the anime club, but he finds out it’s been disbanded. In order to reestablish the club he tries to find 4 other people who would like to join.
Since he was a little boy, Onoda has ridden his mamachari—a bulky bicycle with a step-through frame mainly used for short rides, such as for casual fun or to pick up groceries—to go to Akihabara every week to check out or buy otaku things. Fellow freshman Shunsuke Imaizumi and bicyclist, while training, notices a boy (Onoda) riding his mamchari up a steep road.
Freshman and road racing cyclist, Shokichi Naruko visits Akihabara to get some Gundam plastic models for his younger brothers and meets Onoda who catches his attention because of the his cycling skill on the mamachari and later find out they go to the same school. Later on, both Naruko and Imaizumi try to convince him to join the bicycle racing club, but will he?

Impressions:
Chidori3souske It’s my first time seeing a sports anime about cycling so I’m quite interested on how this thing would turn out but I already got a lot on my plate so I’ll pass on this one.

Potential Meter: 50%

Sid Pass. I don’t think that this anime is going to hold up against the others out there this season. On top of that I just don’t have the time to watch every anime this season so I have to stop somewhere.
Hikaru Loved Overdrive but this one looks like a kiddy show. Pass.
Joshua Pass

 


BlazBlue Alter Memory

BlazBlue: Alter Memory
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Action
Anime Production: Lantis
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Hideki Tachibana (Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kira & Dragon Crisis!)
Series Composition: Deko Akao (Nazo no Kanojo X)
Script: Deko Akao & Tatsuya Takahashi (Asu no Yoichi!)

Kana Ueda as Rachel Alucard (Tohsaka, Rin ofFate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya)
Tetsuya Kakihara as Jin Kisaragi (Dragneel, Natsu of Fairy Tail)
Tomokazu Sugita as Ragna the Bloodedge (Chamber of Suisei no Gargantia)
Chiwa Saito as Taokaka (Senjougahara, Hitagiof Bakemonogatari)

Summary:
The story is set in December of 2199, when the streets are full of anticipation for the end of the year and the start of the new one. Amid the celebrations, word spreads that Ragna the Bloodedge, an SS-class rebel with the highest ever bounty on his head, has appeared in the 13th Hierarchical City of Kagutsuchi. The apparent aim of Ragna or the “Grim Reaper” is the destruction of the system controlling the world. To collect the bounty, a motley array of unrivaled fighters converge on Kagutsuchi.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Another anime this season that is based from a a well known game. Best thing about this series is its cast who have portrayed several memorable characters in anime. Since this is based off a game, I’m not expecting much and the fact that Tachibana-san will be directing is enough to stay away from this series since his previous work Dragon Crisis! is horrible that I cringed with the memory. I’ll pass on this one.

Potential Meter: 10%

Sid Following a guy who has the highest bounty on his head? Destroying the system that controls the world? Multiple figh tscenes with different characters? This seems like it could get interesting. I chuckled a little bit that the guy with the highest bounty also wore a red jacket just like in Trigun. I thought the PV was a little jumpy so it’s hard to tell what the story will be like, but I’m keeping this one on watch.
Hikaru Wary of another game adaptation but will give this a try.
Joshua Pass

 


Kakumeiki Valvrave 2

Kakumeiki Valvrave 2nd Season
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Action
Anime Production: Sunrise

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Kou Matsuo
Series Composition: Ichiro Okouchi

Asami Seto as Shōko Sashinami (Ayase, Chihaya of Chihayafuru)
Haruka Tomatsu as Saki Rukino (Takatsuki, Ichika of Ano Natsu de Matteru)
Ryohei Kimura as L-elf (Hasegawa, Kodaka ofHaganai)
Ryota Ohsaka as Haruto Tokishima (Blood, Staz Charlie of Blood Lad)

Summary:
Second season of Kakumeiki Valvrave.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Oh gosh here we go again with this train wreck show. I’m not too sure if I’ll be a martyr and watch the second season cause the first one just gave me a headache with all the plot twist it delivered (some that doesn’t even make any sense). Oh well if I have the time I guess I’ll pick this up.

Potential Meter: 30%

Sid Pass.
Hikaru I’ve seen how bad the first season was. Could it get any worse than that? I wonder…
Joshua I havent followed the first season. Heard its a flop, but I’ll be watching it because it is featured in Singapore’s Anime Festival Asia, which I would be attending. If I like the first season, I’ll watch it. 


Noucome

Ore no Nounai Sentakushi ga, Gakuen Love Comedy wo Zenryoku de Jama Shiteiru
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Comedy
Anime Production: Diomedea
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Inagaki, Takayuki (Rosario to Vampire)

Sadohara, Kaori as Chocolat (Dortlake, Sandoraof Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo?)
Toyonaga, Toshiyuki as Amakusa, Kanade(Fuwa, Mahiro of Zetsuen no Tempest)
Tsuji, Ayumi as Yuuouji, Ouka (Jun, Ixia)

Summary:
The story centers around Kanade Amakusa, a boy cursed with the mental power of “absolute multiple-choice”—a multiple-choice quiz will suddenly appear in his mind, and the choice he makes will become his reality. For example, he would have to choose between going nude from the waist up or the waist down in school. While in school, he is given another choice: 1) A beautiful girl will fall before him or 2) he will fall from the rooftop in female clothes. He chooses option 1, and a blonde girl named Chocolat falls before him.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Everything screams mediocre in this series (Even the title feels like a rip off of OreImo). Even the character design doesn’t look unique (the white haired girl reminds me a lot of Yuki Nagato of Suzumiya Haruhi ni Yuutsu). I’ll just have to pass on this one.

Potential Meter: 0%

Sid This sounds a really weird anime to say the least. I mean the multiple choice answers he picks from seem pretty one sided. But then again it’s these weird anime that come up with some of the craziest stories. Though I have to say that the PV did lean toward some pretty ecchi moments so I’m hoping that it’s not shrouded with panty shots and awkward fan service.
Hikaru Pass.
Joshua I heard this is weird, hence I must watch it. 


Samurai Flamenco

Samurai Flamenco
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Action
Anime Production: Aniplex
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Takahiro Omori (Baccano!)
Series Composition: Hideyuki Kurata (Oreimo (TV))

Tomokazu Sugita as Hidenori Goto (Chamberof Suisei no Gargantia)
Toshiki Masuda as Masayoshi Hazama/Samurai Flamenco
Haruka Tomatsu as Mari Maya (Morgiana ofMagi: The Labyrinth of Magic)

Summary:
Original anime scheduled to run on noitaminA for 2 cours. The anime’s taglines read, “To those ‘adults’ who don’t want to become adults…” and “Hero will never give up, never hide, never be defeated, never accept evil.”

Impressions:
Chidori3souske The other title in the noitaminA line up this season is no other than Samurai Flamenco. Looks like we’ll be having a super sentai anime which has a very catchy tag line. Little has been revealed on what this series is about so I’ll just try a couple of eps first.

Potential Meter: 70%

Sid I think what sticks out the most for this anime is the line “To those ‘adults’ who don’t want to become adults”. I’m not really sure what that means but I’m curious. I’ll give it a couple episodes before making a call.
Hikaru Pass.
Joshua Will catch it due to similarities to Kick-Ass 


Galilei Donna

Galilei Donna
Release Date: October 11, 2013
Genre:
Anime Production: Aniplex
PV

Notable Staff/Cast:
Director: Yasuomi Umetsu (Key Animator ofElfen Lied & Kite)
Script: Atsushi OkaHideyuki KurataJun KumagaiTouko Machida
Music: Shiroh Hamaguchi (Girls und Panzer)

Kei Shindou as Hazuki Ferrari (Kagami, Kuro ofKodomo no Jikan)
Rina Hidaka as Hozuki Ferrari (Shirakiin, Ririchiyo of Inu x Boku SS)
Rumi Ookubo as Kazuki Ferrari (Ichimiya, Tohko of Servant x Service)

Summary: The story is about three moons in the form of three of Italian astronomer Galileo’s female descendants who are on international wanted lists.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Yes! New noitaminA show and it looks so interesting and packs a lot of action. The major draw back would probably be diresctor-san’s lack of directing experience. Oh and Hamaguchi-san’s work on the music of Girls und Panzer was so amazing so I’m looking forward to his works on this series. I’ll try a couple of eps.

Potential Meter: 75%

Sid Seeing as I have no idea what the genre is and the PV didn’t show much I’ll give it a couple episodes before making my call.
Hikaru Nothing much to gain about the story from the PV and other sources so far but my interest in astronomy must be satisfied. I’m a little optimistic since this one’s from Aniplex. Will try watching a few episodes.


Neppu Kairiku Bushi Road

Neppuu Kairiku Bushi Road
Release Date: October 16, 2013
Genre: Action, Fantasy, Mecha
Anime Production:  Bandai Visual

Summary:
A restart of “Neppu Kairiku Bushi Lord”, a previously stalled mecha mixed-media project.
The anime will air this fall under the new name “Neppu Kairiku Bushi Road”, as a collaboration between Bushiroad, video distributor Bandai Visual, software company Nitroplus, and anime studio Kinema Citrus.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske No PVs nor a more detailed summary so I’ll pass for now until I get more info.
Sid I can’t say much about the anime without a PV and vague summary but I’ll give it a shot.

Hikaru Might be worth a few episodes try.
Joshua Bushiroad seems like a pretty reliable company for quality (Cards especially). Will give it a shot. 


Pupa

Pupa
Release Date:
October 16, 2013
Genre: Drama, Horror, Psychological
Anime Production: Studio Deen
PV

Notable Staff/Cast: 
Director: Tomomi Mochizuki (Shinigami no BalladSaraiya Goyou)

Ibuki Kido as Yume Hasegawa (Yuka ofOregairu)
Nobunaga Shimazaki as Utsutsu Hasegawa (Nanase, Haruka of Free!)
Koji Yusa as as Shirō Onijima (Law, Vincent ofErgo Proxy)
Kyōko Narumi as Maria (Takamiya, Nasuno ofTeekyuu )

Summary:
The “life-and-death sibling” story follows Utsutsu and Yume Hasegawa, a boy and his little sister who find themselves all alone. One day, Yume sees a mysterious red butterfly and her body undergoes a strange metamorphosis—into a creature that eats humans. Utsutsu struggles to find a way to restore his sister.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Oh YES! I have wished for a long time to watch a good horror and gory anime and seems like my prayers have been answered. The premise is interesting and it definitely got my attention so after writing this preview I’ll read the manga ASAP. Director-san is well known for his amazing visual style so yep I think this is left in good hands. I just hope we got more PVs.

Potential Meter: 90%

Sid This is another anime I’m really looking forward too. I’m a huge fan of horror and psychological anime. It didn’t give much with the PV but I think with this genre it’s hard to make a trailer without giving too much away. It’s a weird, twisted story based off the summary that I can’t wait for. I’m watching this one till the end for sure.

P.S. In case anyone was wondering it is an ongoing anime that has very high ratings if you want to grab a sneak peak!

Hikaru Interesting plot. Will give it a shot.
Joshua This looks amazing! I WILL WATCH IT!


Shorts

Miss Monochrome

Miss Monochrome
Release Date: October 1, 2013
Genre: Music, Slice of Life
Animation Production: LIDEN FILMS, SANZIGEN

Notable Staff/Cast:
Horie, Yui (Hanekawa, Tsubasa of Bakemonogatari)

Summary:
“Miss Monochrome” is an original character design from seiyuu Horie Yui. In March 2012, she first used the “Miss Monochrome” character as a 3D virtual singer to sing her songs at her concert “Horie Yui wo Meguru Bouken III ~Secret Mission Tour~”. Later, the character appeared in a range of merchandise as well as in the social network game “Girlfriend (Beta)”.

According to the setting, Miss Monochrome loves only the monochrome style, dislikes all kinds of color, and always dreams about changing the world into her favorite monochrome color.

Impressions:
Chidori3souske This one will be an anime short based on Horie Yui’s original character design. Well I love Horie Yui but I’m not too interested with this anime so I’ll pass on this one

Potential Meter: 10%
Sid I don’t think it will be that great but one of the genre is music so I think I’ll give a watch since it’s a short.

Hikaru Pass.
Joshua I’ll watch this one due to its potential weird factor. 


Super Seisyun Brothers

Super Seisyun Brothers
Release Date
: Sept 13, 2013
Genre: Shoujo, Comedy, Slice of Life, Josei
Animation Production: AIC+
Notable Staff/Cast:
Series Composition: Konparu, Tomoko (Series Composition of Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi & Kimi ni Todoke)

Ishikawa, Kaito as Saitou, Mao – Ledo (Suisei no Gargantia)
Kayano, Ai as Saitou, Mako – Honma, Meiko (AnoHana)
Ohsaka, Ryota as Sawamura, Eijun – Blood, Charlie Staz (Blood Lad)
Yamamoto, Nozomi as Shinmoto, Chiko – Kusunoki, Yukimura (Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai)

Summary:
The story involves two pairs of teenage elder sister and younger brother, Niimoto’s who are a bit of narcissist and Saitou’s who look a bit mysterious, and their everyday life in school and at home.

Impression:
Chidori3souske Great works by the series composition staff so maybe it’ll turn out great despite the not so impressive summary and PV. After Servant x Service I’ll need a dose of comedy and slice of life so I think I’ll try this one.

Potential Meter: 50%
Sid Pass.

Hikaru I’ve seen the first episode and this looks like a slice-of-life and comedy combi. Will give it a few more episodes.
Joshua Pass.


Teekyuu Season 3

Teekyuu Season 3
Release Date:
October 6, 2013
Genre: Comedy, Shounen, Sports
Anime Production: MAPPA

Summary:
Season three of Teekyuu

Impressions:
Chidori3souske Another Pass for me too…
Sid Didn’t watch the first two seasons so pass.

Hikaru Pass.
Joshua Pass

Leave a Reply